Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I just love this rice. It is a bit of work, but so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Couldn't imagine the flavor of this one before I actually tasted it. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
FABULOUS!! Followed recipe exactly, served with grilled filet mignon and steamed green beans. One of the easiest to prepare and best tasting meals ever! Will make again and again, not just for holidays. Sidebar- if you have dried cranberries and slivered almonds leftover use them in Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad ...also on this site and fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Not just for Thanksgiving!! I wanted to use up a box of wild rice/white rice with seasonings, that box makes 3 cups of cooked rice. I used that in place of the rice and chicken broth and then used 2/3 amount for the rest of the ingredients. (and omitted the brown sugar) I LOVED it as a meatless main dish for a simple week-day supper. Ate it with a microwaved baked sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Love this rice dish! Didn't cook it as long as the recipe called for, used vegetable broth, and just tossed whole almonds in at the end. loved this will make it again! I think I will use vegetable broth in the rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pink, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Flavors that one wouldn't ordinarily couple together make for a pleasant dish. Didn't change a thing and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
We loved this. Served it to guests and it was a hit! I would leave the sugar out next time and cut the cranberries in half, otherwise fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is wonderful! I didn't have everything on hand so ended up using all jasmine rice, and I used roasted cashews instead of almonds. My family agrees that this is definitely a keeper! It will also be a great choice when company comes. With it I served Honey Baked Chicken, also on this site. It was a great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is one of those great recipes that has it all--it's pretty on the table, extremely nutritious and super versatile. I've added chopped chicken, spinach and artichokes to make it a one dish meal with great results. Thanks for sharing, Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAMOM247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this into a gluten free, dairy free side dish by using soy butter substitute. I also had run out of slivered almonds, so toasted up some pine nuts. It was great. Since the first time, I've also used toasted pumpkin seeds in place of almonds.. This dish can be varied in so many interesting ways by using different dried fruits... apricots, cherries, apples, dates ... wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States