Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I've been making this for at least a year now & it's our very favorite rice dish. This week my son said, "Mom, this rice is bangin'" (His highest praise.) I use 1 cup uncooked white Basmati rice (which is nutty) to 1/2 cup wild rice. My wild rice calls for 65 minutes of cooking, and it's perfect. This week I substitued walnuts for almonds (almonds are better), and I've used dried, chopped dates instead of dried cranberries, but Kathy's combo of tastes & textures is the best (except that I've never had fresh mushrooms on the days I've made this recipe & I often forget the orange zest!) This is one of those forgiving recipes that is nearly impossible to ruin. This is my very first review...sorry it took so long to say "Thank You".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattycake
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
A nice change to ordinary rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I made this dish and the taste was great. Had a bit of trouble with the Jasmine rice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This was 'oh my goodness' good! I was unsure if the recipe meant 3 onions, so only used one fairly large one. It did cook down a lot w/the carmelization process, but still tasted oniony enough. I used 1 cup brown rice, 1/2 cup wild. To make up for the difference in cooking times of the 2 rices, I put the wild rice in a pot w/a can of chix broth. after 15 minutes, added the brown and let them finish off together. The savory/fruit flavor really complemented our meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
When we were invited to a friends house for New Years Eve, I found this rice recipe to go with baked stuffed shrimp. I was a little leary taking it to dinner party since I hadn't tried it yet, but said what the heck. Its better than baked potatos! I made the dish but didn't put the almonds in it because another friend couldn't have nuts. I put them in a separate container. We just added them to our plates. It was wonderful and very delicious and got alot of compliments. Wouldn't change a thing. My jusband even loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This was ok...but I would not make it again. I guess from all the raves, I expected more. Way too much work for something that came out only so so...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acejarvis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This was so enjoyable! The only change I made was to use orange-flavoured Craisins and leave out the zest, so the orange stayed in the background and didn't overpower the rest of the ingredients. I will definitely make this again; thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
It was a hit! It was worth the extra time in the kitchen. Since 3 out of 4 of us are vegetarian I used vegetable brothe instead of chicken and it worked out well. I'm sure I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
You have to make this!! My husband hates cranberries, mushrooms and orange but he actually liked this! I made it for Christmas dinner and received many rave reviews and recipe requests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZEUSMAGOOSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Very good, I used Cherry craisins, because that is what I had, it was delicious. Thank you will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States