Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This rice dish is out standing. I love the texture and the taste. I cut back on the onions a bit. I also accidently bought 'already cooked' wild rice at the store (came in a packet, who knew?). So I just cooked the brown rice alone and then mixed in the wild rice with the rest of the ingredients. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This recipe makes a LOT of dish. I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone raved about it. I omitted the orange zest (I am not a fan) and I used a few chopped pecans rather than almonds. I would make it again. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This was yummy. Usually I think anything with berries, nuts and then something traditionally non sweet like onions makes for a total "girl" food and I was both surprised and delighted that my husband loved it. I accidentally doubled the rice in the beginning so we had lots of leftovers. I added zuchini just because I had them and it was a nice addition. I also used just brown rice. Fun flavors and very hearty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jelmelt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Meh. After reading the reviews I was very excited to bring this dish to a holiday gathering. I thought it was kind of bland (I followed the recipe exactly). My family apparently thought so, too, as I had about half the dish left afterwards! I probably won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
A lot of different flavours in this one! It's delicious!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Changes: * no slivered almonds. used dried fruit & nut mix to replace almonds and cranberries. * used only brown rice, not wild * used chopped, not sliced onions * used olive oil, not butter * used canned mushrooms * used lemon juice, not orange zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Expensive for a side dish. Good hot, not a fan of it reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe-I didn't have any wild rice or oranges, so I just left them out. I also didn't measure the cranberries (which I chopped up tiny) or mushrooms...but I absolutely loved this--which I very rarely do without tweaking the recipe. The carmelized onions simply MAKE this recipe. I also followed another suggestion to toss in the almonds with the rice to make them more tender. Definite high five!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
First time I made this it was great- I used homemade organic chicken stock. The second time I made this I used College Inn chicken stock and it was pretty bad- If you make this use only the freshest ingredients and real stock and its wonderful- otherwise don't bother. (And I often used canned products this isn't just snobbery talking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
At first, this side intimidated me a bit. I a boxed rice kinda girl. But the end result was amazing! It won out over the brandided steaks as the star of the dinner plate. It reminded me a bit of the rice that comes with Orange Sesame Chicken at some chain restaurants. Its a keeper! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Whittier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Kent, Maine, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States