Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Although a bit more time consuming than I prefer (brown rice just takes a while to cook and there's not a thing you can do about that) this dish is fabulous. Nice and savory with a hint of sweetness and tart. A great way to up the fiber and protien of a mainly carb dish and a nice "gourmet" alternative to plain old rice. My only changes were that I used sliced instead of slivered almonds (purely my mistake while picking up items at the store) and I only used about half of a single onion, finely chopped. Sweetie really doesn't like onions, this way I was able to get some oft he flavor without completely overwhelming him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I made this rice dish for a Fall Social in 2007. The ladies went crazy over it! Had to give them a copy in our monthly newsletter. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Delicious! I added grilled turkey to make it a complete meal. Also, note- wild rice is pretty expensive... but good and added an important visual diversity to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This is one of my favorite ways of preparing rice. It's quite time-consuming but great for when you have need-to-be-impressed company! I used all brown rice and cut the onions down to 2 small, I think more would be too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This recipe is fantastic. I followed all of it except using all brown rice because that is what I had on hand. Really great - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Basseterre, Saint George Basseterre, Saint Kitts And Nevis
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I loved this! Very tasty. I used more brown rice and less wild rice just because that's my preference. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This was really good. I didn't use quite as many onions. Had several people ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
What wonderful flavors and different textures with each bite. This is a great dish just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This dish was a hit at Thanksgiving. I for one am not a wild rice fan but this won me over...I will add more cranberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
As some of the other reviewers note, this is a very forgiving recipe. It has a nice flavor and texture because of the nuts. It was easy to make and I was able to substitute items I didn't have from my cupboard. It came out great! I used 1/2 c. pine nuts, 2 c. veggie broth, 1/2 c.jasmine rice, 1/2 wild rice, 3 T. oil (dairy allergy), 1 c. shredded carrots, (no brown sugar), 1/2 c. dried cranberries, 2 c. mushrooms, 1/2 t. orange zest. Thank you Kathy for sharing. It really is a nice dish for company. My family tends to be very "meat and potatoes", but even they enjoyed it, and my vegetarian friends loved it. One of my other guests thought that by adding hamburg, it would be a really good main dish for the meat-eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States