Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This is an awesome rice dish. Perfect with turkey or chicken. I loved it, and so did everyone else. I'm happy to recommend it and share it with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somecookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This was pretty good. The only change I made was to add more mushrooms and I would do that again. Next time I would only use 1 or 2 onions, depending on their size and chop them instead of the wedges. I thought they overwhelmed the dish being in large wedges and so many of them. I don't think I would add the orange zest next time - I think I would of enjoyed all the other flavors much more without it. Not bad overall but I prefer the almond wild rice on this site better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
With Thanksgiving fast approaching (Canadian) I wanted to try this out beforehand. Really yummy healthy ingredients, a festive presentation and fun to put together. It is a dish that could be made the day before and then reheated for the special meal. It's always nice to check something off the to do list early. A nice side dish which really compliments a holiday menu. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Fabulous dish! I substituted pecans for the almonds and only used 1 chopped onion. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
We did not care for this. Too much of a browned flavor. Would have been better not caramelizing the Onions or browning the Almonds since using Brown Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Although a bit more time consuming than I prefer (brown rice just takes a while to cook and there's not a thing you can do about that) this dish is fabulous. Nice and savory with a hint of sweetness and tart. A great way to up the fiber and protien of a mainly carb dish and a nice "gourmet" alternative to plain old rice. My only changes were that I used sliced instead of slivered almonds (purely my mistake while picking up items at the store) and I only used about half of a single onion, finely chopped. Sweetie really doesn't like onions, this way I was able to get some oft he flavor without completely overwhelming him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I made this rice dish for a Fall Social in 2007. The ladies went crazy over it! Had to give them a copy in our monthly newsletter. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Delicious! I added grilled turkey to make it a complete meal. Also, note- wild rice is pretty expensive... but good and added an important visual diversity to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This is one of my favorite ways of preparing rice. It's quite time-consuming but great for when you have need-to-be-impressed company! I used all brown rice and cut the onions down to 2 small, I think more would be too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This recipe is fantastic. I followed all of it except using all brown rice because that is what I had on hand. Really great - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Basseterre, Saint George Basseterre, Saint Kitts And Nevis

Displaying results 101-110 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States