Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was really delicious. I rehydrated the cranberries in white wine earlier in the day. The oven temperature stated for toasting the almonds is a little high. Next time, I'll reduce it to 275.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was excellent! Unfortunately, I didn't have orange zest & decided to add orange marmalade instead. I ended up adding too much which gave it too strong an orange flavor. Next time I will just leave it out if I don't have it because it was fantastic before adding the orange marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
this is an absolutely wonderful dish! Served it to guests and everyone loved it and it all went quickly. It was simple to make. I soaked the cranberries in white wine for about 30 minutes, drained and used in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texasbelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This recipe was very good without any changes but I had to simmer my rice for an hour to get it tender. Maybe because I live at 4800 ft?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This is an awesome rice dish. Perfect with turkey or chicken. I loved it, and so did everyone else. I'm happy to recommend it and share it with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somecookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This was pretty good. The only change I made was to add more mushrooms and I would do that again. Next time I would only use 1 or 2 onions, depending on their size and chop them instead of the wedges. I thought they overwhelmed the dish being in large wedges and so many of them. I don't think I would add the orange zest next time - I think I would of enjoyed all the other flavors much more without it. Not bad overall but I prefer the almond wild rice on this site better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
With Thanksgiving fast approaching (Canadian) I wanted to try this out beforehand. Really yummy healthy ingredients, a festive presentation and fun to put together. It is a dish that could be made the day before and then reheated for the special meal. It's always nice to check something off the to do list early. A nice side dish which really compliments a holiday menu. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Fabulous dish! I substituted pecans for the almonds and only used 1 chopped onion. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
We did not care for this. Too much of a browned flavor. Would have been better not caramelizing the Onions or browning the Almonds since using Brown Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Although a bit more time consuming than I prefer (brown rice just takes a while to cook and there's not a thing you can do about that) this dish is fabulous. Nice and savory with a hint of sweetness and tart. A great way to up the fiber and protien of a mainly carb dish and a nice "gourmet" alternative to plain old rice. My only changes were that I used sliced instead of slivered almonds (purely my mistake while picking up items at the store) and I only used about half of a single onion, finely chopped. Sweetie really doesn't like onions, this way I was able to get some oft he flavor without completely overwhelming him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States