Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I'm thrilled that my first review on this site is a 5 star.I "love" wild rice and my husband "doesn't". For decades I've tried to incorporate it into a dish he will more than tolerate. This recipe did it! He likes it and he will eat it again! I made it exactly as written with only 1 exception, he would not have eaten it with almonds, so I substituted pistachio, because I knew he would eat that. What I loved about this dish is the diversity in texture and flavor. It is soft, but also has a chewy bite. I loved the pop of flavor from the cranberries. I can see why this would make an excellent Holiday side. It had great eye appeal. Thanks Kathy, for me this recipe is a total keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I rate this recipe as a 5 star! My husband and I absolutely love it. To us it's like having dessert with our meat and veggies. We like it so much we could eat it on it's own. I'm going to change it up a bit next time by stir frying some chicken in garlic and hoisin sauce, and adding it to the rice as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This rice is wonderful!!! I could eat just this rice for dinner. Followed the recipe and it turned out great. I will make this every fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Wonderful flavor. Served this along side the Roasted Port Shoulder with Pomegranate Sauce from this website and they worked very well together. Will probably reduce the amount of cranberries next time though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgadison
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Terrific. I made it vegetarian (omitted chicken broth) and used it to stuff an acorn squash. Used sliced almonds, not slivered, and substituted currants for the dried cranberries because we were all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This was pretty good, but I had to take 2 tries with it; the first try I found the onions to be WAAAAAY too sweet so I cut down on the brown sugar for the second try. Also, I may be from Massachusetts, but even I thought the amount of cranberries was a little much. Other than that, I enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
made this for Thanksgiving potluck last year. It was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Really great flavor! Followed recipe all the way ... worth the wait it takes to prepare. This is a keeper for future holiday dinners. It was a side dish with a honey mustard curry chicken dish (also from all recipes) both were super yummy. Much thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Yummy! This is a great savoury rice dish with a unique blend of flavours and textures. The only thing was that I found the orange flavour just a tad too strong so I might try to cut down the orange zest to a little less than 1/2 teaspoon - but to each their own - some of my friends really liked the original recipe just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Well it would have been great except for the fact that it was too buttery and therefore slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States