Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I added a quarter cup more of brown rice and a little bit more water but there wasn't enough liquid, I kept adding more water. I usually use my rice cooker when I cook rice but I tried to follow this recipe instead. I think it would have been better (and easier) if I used the rice cooker. I stirred the rice -which I never do on the rice cooker- and I think that was the reason the liquid wasn't enough...some must have evaporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omar Abiera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Added celery and used jellied cranberry as no dried were available. Also used some quinoa with mango in it. White sugar due to no brown, so didn't typically carmelized, but did thicken. Really good. Added Mandarin zest and some pep and salt. Will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
It was way too sweet. I would halve the amount of cranberries next time. This is not a stand-alone vegetarian dish in my book, but might be really nice as an accompaniment to chicken/pork. I think this recipe has a lot of potential, and I need to tune it to my likes. I love the almond, and the serving suggestion of acorn squash. I think the acorn squash provides all the sweetness necessary, although an ACCENT of cranberries would probably be great. I'll give it another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
The flavor and texture was great. I did add some chopped celery and carrot for texture as I didn't have any almonds.I did not have orange zest so I used 1/4 cup of Orange juice. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Belcastro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessikins
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Aaa-Ma-Zing!! I took a couple of short cuts using rice I already had made and canned mushroo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Holy moly! Wow. I really liked this. In fact, I'm going to have to put it out of my mind that I have a lot left in the fridge. I can see myself going back for more! I wanted to make this exactly as the recipe says, but wild rice was too expensive (at least in the store I went to). I doubled the brown rice instead. I also forgot to get an orange for the orange zest, so I didn't get that put in, either. All I can say is, if it's this incredible without the orange zest, imagine how amazing it could be WITH the orange zest! I read a few of the reviews before I made it and, since one of the reviews said it was too butttery, I decided to cut back to two tablespoons of unsalted butter and it was perfect. I didn't miss that extra tablespoon. I didn't know what kind of onion to use, so I bought a medium size red onion and it was WONDERFUL! I also used a small can of mushrooms instead of the fresh. I fixed it with Rachel Ray's cheese-crusted chicken tenderloins. At first, the rice didn't seem that it was tender enough, so I put it in a covered casserole and put it in the oven at 275 degrees while I finished frying the chicken. By that time, it was simply delectable. Oh, the sweet tang of those cranberries is delightful! And the crunch of the toasted almonds! This one is a keeper for sure! Thank you so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I'm thrilled that my first review on this site is a 5 star.I "love" wild rice and my husband "doesn't". For decades I've tried to incorporate it into a dish he will more than tolerate. This recipe did it! He likes it and he will eat it again! I made it exactly as written with only 1 exception, he would not have eaten it with almonds, so I substituted pistachio, because I knew he would eat that. What I loved about this dish is the diversity in texture and flavor. It is soft, but also has a chewy bite. I loved the pop of flavor from the cranberries. I can see why this would make an excellent Holiday side. It had great eye appeal. Thanks Kathy, for me this recipe is a total keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I rate this recipe as a 5 star! My husband and I absolutely love it. To us it's like having dessert with our meat and veggies. We like it so much we could eat it on it's own. I'm going to change it up a bit next time by stir frying some chicken in garlic and hoisin sauce, and adding it to the rice as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This rice is wonderful!!! I could eat just this rice for dinner. Followed the recipe and it turned out great. I will make this every fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States