Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by SHARONN
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
A very tasty, different recipet. I will use more mushrooms next time, maybe Shiitake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
this rice was delicious! My husband and I devoured it, however, the kids were a little more partial to the chicken quesadillas I made to go with it. EXCELLENT RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This is such a good rice dish! I made it for company and they just raved over it, and my hubby liked it so much he asked if I would make it for Thanksgiving. We just finished dinner, and I have to say, it got tons and tons of compliments! It's a keeper and a new favorite in our house! thanks for the great recipe Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I love this! I've made it several times over the past months (work functions and home) and there's never any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Delicious! A really special dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
This was the BEST rice dish I ever served!! I thought the cranberries would be too much, but my guests LOVED it, and it was the cranberries that made the dish special. I had to 4x the recipe to serve about 10 people. This is my new pot luck dish for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This dish is 5 stars +. I will definitely make this over and over. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Fantastic! I did, however, cook the wild rice separate (just in boiling water) because the directions on the box indicated a longer cooking time than the brown rice. I doubled the recipe and froze portions for future dinners. However, neither my husband or my 20-month old cared for it as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I was not impressed with the look of this dish -- but it was probably my fault. I have always had problems cooking brown rice (I've only done it a few times) and I can never seem to get the right texture with the rice not falling apart from being over cooked. ~~ After saying that, the taste was wonderful at our Thanksgiving dinner yesterday. I had requests to take the leftovers home. I used vegetable stock (canned) and doubled the recipe. Each can says "about 2 cups" and after my two cans boiled down and the rice was still crunchy I put another can in. I also omitted quite a few things because of picky relatives, so there were no onions or mushrooms in this rice dish. I also forgot to add the orange zest. ~~ This is definetly worth trying, I loved the taste of the final product with the almonds and cranberries and rice. I'll probably make this again once I figure out the right way to simmer the rice. I had it on "simmer" for about 50 minutes before adding the second can of broth, and I think that my "simmer" was not hot enough to cook the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
This was absolutely the best rice dish I have ever fixed or ate anywhere. If I was having the President of the USA for dinner, this is a gourmet dish that he would deserve. And it is very easy to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States