Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I'm a caterer and I wanted a great rice dish that tasted wonderful, but used brown and wild rice. Not just white rice. This one is the best. I had to use vegetable stock becaue of some vegetarians in the group I have served it to, but it is requested over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Very good. I made the following changes. 1) Made 1/2 cup of wild rice and 1/2cup of red rice in rice cooker with water. 2) No mushrooms. 3) chopped walnuts and no almonds. 4) squeezed a little orange juice into the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Great recipe. Not something you can make quickly, though anything with wild rice is going to be like that. I used leeks instead of onions, and left out the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
What an excellent combination of flavors! Aside from using coconut oil and veg broth, I followed the recipe exactly. I grated the orange zest over individual servings for a test run; it's equally delicious both ways. The only change I'd make is to use more mushrooms, because they really complement the wild rice. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Loved this and easy to make. To cut the fat content I used canola margarine and used low sodium chicken broth to reduce the sodium. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I've made this recipe for vegans using vegetable broth. Better with chicken broth, although either one works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very good rice dish, with a lot of different flavors that complement each other very well. The only problem I had with this recipe is my onions didn't 'carmelize', unless that is another word for 'burned'. Luckily I caught that in time to save most of them. I didn't have any orange, so just added a couple tablespoons of orange juice, but I think the zest would work best. I recommend trying this dish if you like the ingredients it requires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This recipe was awesome! Even my 18-month-old loved it! Very easy to make, even if it does take some time. It's not hard -just needs to be started enough in advance. So, no problem there. We didn't have any mushrooms on hand, so I just omitted them. Still turned out great. Superb with salmon and green beans! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This is easily one of the best side dishes I have ever had. Took a little time to make, but well worth the time. I only used one onion as we are not big onion eaters and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
very unique taste and was a hit at our Christmas party served with pork tenderloin. A little time consuming but worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States