Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This recipe was fantastic. I made it once as is and it was really good. My second attempt I used only 1 onion, which suited our taste a little better. I also added a tablespoon of butter when combining everything to bring it together a little more and added cinnamon for a twist. It was out of this world! I didn't measure the cinnamon, just added a couple good dashes from my shaker. It gives the dish a whole different dimension, and tastes even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This dish was pretty good, but it seemed to lack a good flavor, other then the sweetness from the cranberries, I might try adding some herbs next time. I served it at a dinner party and everyone liked it, but I have a few complaints about it being too many cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I'm a caterer and I wanted a great rice dish that tasted wonderful, but used brown and wild rice. Not just white rice. This one is the best. I had to use vegetable stock becaue of some vegetarians in the group I have served it to, but it is requested over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Very good. I made the following changes. 1) Made 1/2 cup of wild rice and 1/2cup of red rice in rice cooker with water. 2) No mushrooms. 3) chopped walnuts and no almonds. 4) squeezed a little orange juice into the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Great recipe. Not something you can make quickly, though anything with wild rice is going to be like that. I used leeks instead of onions, and left out the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
What an excellent combination of flavors! Aside from using coconut oil and veg broth, I followed the recipe exactly. I grated the orange zest over individual servings for a test run; it's equally delicious both ways. The only change I'd make is to use more mushrooms, because they really complement the wild rice. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Loved this and easy to make. To cut the fat content I used canola margarine and used low sodium chicken broth to reduce the sodium. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I've made this recipe for vegans using vegetable broth. Better with chicken broth, although either one works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very good rice dish, with a lot of different flavors that complement each other very well. The only problem I had with this recipe is my onions didn't 'carmelize', unless that is another word for 'burned'. Luckily I caught that in time to save most of them. I didn't have any orange, so just added a couple tablespoons of orange juice, but I think the zest would work best. I recommend trying this dish if you like the ingredients it requires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This recipe was awesome! Even my 18-month-old loved it! Very easy to make, even if it does take some time. It's not hard -just needs to be started enough in advance. So, no problem there. We didn't have any mushrooms on hand, so I just omitted them. Still turned out great. Superb with salmon and green beans! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States