Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2000
this one is an incredible recipe. time consuming but worth the effort. even the men love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Excellent! Great with turkey, chicken or pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
I really like this dish. It has a very hearty and rich flavor. I thought that six onions might be too much, so I used five. Still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Wow! It really is the best! I Did not have to change a thing! I'll make this for our Thanksgiving Day Feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeelover2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This was surprisingly nice. I only used one large mayan onion though as opposed to three onions, and the dish still seemed about half onion. Three would have made it an onion dish garnished with rice. Also, I didn't want to buy a huge, expensive bottle of orange zest, so I substituted a tablespoon of orange juice concentrate for the zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This is delicious. It's nice to have something a little different from plain rice. I used what I had on hand - white rice instead of brown and chicken rice soup for one cup of the chicken broth and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
Took this dish to a work potluck and everyone went wild! Changed the ratio of brown rice to wild rice from 1:1 to 2:1. Several people asked for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
This was absolutely the best rice dish I have ever fixed or ate anywhere. If I was having the President of the USA for dinner, this is a gourmet dish that he would deserve. And it is very easy to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I was not impressed with the look of this dish -- but it was probably my fault. I have always had problems cooking brown rice (I've only done it a few times) and I can never seem to get the right texture with the rice not falling apart from being over cooked. ~~ After saying that, the taste was wonderful at our Thanksgiving dinner yesterday. I had requests to take the leftovers home. I used vegetable stock (canned) and doubled the recipe. Each can says "about 2 cups" and after my two cans boiled down and the rice was still crunchy I put another can in. I also omitted quite a few things because of picky relatives, so there were no onions or mushrooms in this rice dish. I also forgot to add the orange zest. ~~ This is definetly worth trying, I loved the taste of the final product with the almonds and cranberries and rice. I'll probably make this again once I figure out the right way to simmer the rice. I had it on "simmer" for about 50 minutes before adding the second can of broth, and I think that my "simmer" was not hot enough to cook the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This dish is 5 stars +. I will definitely make this over and over. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States