Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This is easily one of the best side dishes I have ever had. Took a little time to make, but well worth the time. I only used one onion as we are not big onion eaters and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
very unique taste and was a hit at our Christmas party served with pork tenderloin. A little time consuming but worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it!! I did double the rice/chicken stock and then added some extra cranberries/almonds/mushrooms to compensate and it was wonderful. It was decided this was a keeped for future family meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Yum! Fine without the orange zest (didn't have any). The only concern is the amount of liquid left in the bottom of the rice after steaming; I am used to the rice soaking up the entire amount and not having to drain it. I might use less broth next time. But this was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
What a delightful recipe! Such a nice change to wild rice with the little bit of orange zest and cranberries. I used the ingredients listed but changed the cooking method a little. I sauted the rice, almonds and onions in butter until the onions were done. To this I added the cranberries, orange zest and liquid. To this I also added some chicken breasts, covered and baked for 1 hour. The chicken was nice and moist and picked up a nice flavor from the cranberries and orange zest. I will definately make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrandmaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
delicious! I cut the recipe in half. I didn't have any wild rice, so I used 1.5 cups of cooked brown rice. I used frozen cranberries (thawed and halved). I used one onion. I used dried mushrooms and gave them life by cooking them in chicken broth. Altogether, it was great! Now I'm just thinking of a main dish that can go with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Way too much orange flavor and ended up being kind of gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This was different from any rice I have ever made & everyone really liked it. The recipe called for too much butter for my taste, so I reduced it to about 1 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooker K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Very yummy! I used orange-flavoured, sweetened Craisins and eliminated the orange zest. The end result was a bit sweet; I would reduce the sugar next time. Hubby, who usually dislikes wild and brown rice ate this all up. We enjoyed this with roast pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I followed the recipe I THOUGHT....but it was not good at all. Not one person in my family would eat it not even my husband who normally will eat anything. I might have done something wrong but I am not willing to attempt this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States