Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This is easily one of the best side dishes I have ever had. Took a little time to make, but well worth the time. I only used one onion as we are not big onion eaters and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
very unique taste and was a hit at our Christmas party served with pork tenderloin. A little time consuming but worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it!! I did double the rice/chicken stock and then added some extra cranberries/almonds/mushrooms to compensate and it was wonderful. It was decided this was a keeped for future family meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Yum! Fine without the orange zest (didn't have any). The only concern is the amount of liquid left in the bottom of the rice after steaming; I am used to the rice soaking up the entire amount and not having to drain it. I might use less broth next time. But this was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
What a delightful recipe! Such a nice change to wild rice with the little bit of orange zest and cranberries. I used the ingredients listed but changed the cooking method a little. I sauted the rice, almonds and onions in butter until the onions were done. To this I added the cranberries, orange zest and liquid. To this I also added some chicken breasts, covered and baked for 1 hour. The chicken was nice and moist and picked up a nice flavor from the cranberries and orange zest. I will definately make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrandmaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
delicious! I cut the recipe in half. I didn't have any wild rice, so I used 1.5 cups of cooked brown rice. I used frozen cranberries (thawed and halved). I used one onion. I used dried mushrooms and gave them life by cooking them in chicken broth. Altogether, it was great! Now I'm just thinking of a main dish that can go with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Way too much orange flavor and ended up being kind of gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This was different from any rice I have ever made & everyone really liked it. The recipe called for too much butter for my taste, so I reduced it to about 1 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooker K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Very yummy! I used orange-flavoured, sweetened Craisins and eliminated the orange zest. The end result was a bit sweet; I would reduce the sugar next time. Hubby, who usually dislikes wild and brown rice ate this all up. We enjoyed this with roast pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I followed the recipe I THOUGHT....but it was not good at all. Not one person in my family would eat it not even my husband who normally will eat anything. I might have done something wrong but I am not willing to attempt this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States