Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
I had to improvise w/ what I had on hand--namely, fresh cranberries. Big mistake. I assumed the problem is that you need sweetened cranberries--but that makes the whole dish too sweet, since you use brown sugar w/ the onion as well as orange juice. So *definitely* don't use sweetened dried cranberries or fresh cranberries. Try to find unsweetened dried cranberries for the best balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2000
this one is an incredible recipe. time consuming but worth the effort. even the men love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
I really like this dish. It has a very hearty and rich flavor. I thought that six onions might be too much, so I used five. Still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This was surprisingly nice. I only used one large mayan onion though as opposed to three onions, and the dish still seemed about half onion. Three would have made it an onion dish garnished with rice. Also, I didn't want to buy a huge, expensive bottle of orange zest, so I substituted a tablespoon of orange juice concentrate for the zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very good rice dish, with a lot of different flavors that complement each other very well. The only problem I had with this recipe is my onions didn't 'carmelize', unless that is another word for 'burned'. Luckily I caught that in time to save most of them. I didn't have any orange, so just added a couple tablespoons of orange juice, but I think the zest would work best. I recommend trying this dish if you like the ingredients it requires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Yum! Fine without the orange zest (didn't have any). The only concern is the amount of liquid left in the bottom of the rice after steaming; I am used to the rice soaking up the entire amount and not having to drain it. I might use less broth next time. But this was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I love this dish. Probably one of my favorite things I have made from this site. Great combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Nice holiday dish. Can be prepared while roasting turkey or beef and put in crock pot to keep warm til dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This is delicious. It's nice to have something a little different from plain rice. I used what I had on hand - white rice instead of brown and chicken rice soup for one cup of the chicken broth and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
What a delightful recipe! Such a nice change to wild rice with the little bit of orange zest and cranberries. I used the ingredients listed but changed the cooking method a little. I sauted the rice, almonds and onions in butter until the onions were done. To this I added the cranberries, orange zest and liquid. To this I also added some chicken breasts, covered and baked for 1 hour. The chicken was nice and moist and picked up a nice flavor from the cranberries and orange zest. I will definately make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrandmaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States