Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This is such a good rice dish! I made it for company and they just raved over it, and my hubby liked it so much he asked if I would make it for Thanksgiving. We just finished dinner, and I have to say, it got tons and tons of compliments! It's a keeper and a new favorite in our house! thanks for the great recipe Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I love this! I've made it several times over the past months (work functions and home) and there's never any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Delicious! A really special dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
This was the BEST rice dish I ever served!! I thought the cranberries would be too much, but my guests LOVED it, and it was the cranberries that made the dish special. I had to 4x the recipe to serve about 10 people. This is my new pot luck dish for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This dish is 5 stars +. I will definitely make this over and over. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Fantastic! I did, however, cook the wild rice separate (just in boiling water) because the directions on the box indicated a longer cooking time than the brown rice. I doubled the recipe and froze portions for future dinners. However, neither my husband or my 20-month old cared for it as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I was not impressed with the look of this dish -- but it was probably my fault. I have always had problems cooking brown rice (I've only done it a few times) and I can never seem to get the right texture with the rice not falling apart from being over cooked. ~~ After saying that, the taste was wonderful at our Thanksgiving dinner yesterday. I had requests to take the leftovers home. I used vegetable stock (canned) and doubled the recipe. Each can says "about 2 cups" and after my two cans boiled down and the rice was still crunchy I put another can in. I also omitted quite a few things because of picky relatives, so there were no onions or mushrooms in this rice dish. I also forgot to add the orange zest. ~~ This is definetly worth trying, I loved the taste of the final product with the almonds and cranberries and rice. I'll probably make this again once I figure out the right way to simmer the rice. I had it on "simmer" for about 50 minutes before adding the second can of broth, and I think that my "simmer" was not hot enough to cook the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
This was absolutely the best rice dish I have ever fixed or ate anywhere. If I was having the President of the USA for dinner, this is a gourmet dish that he would deserve. And it is very easy to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Wow! It really is the best! I Did not have to change a thing! I'll make this for our Thanksgiving Day Feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeelover2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
I had to improvise w/ what I had on hand--namely, fresh cranberries. Big mistake. I assumed the problem is that you need sweetened cranberries--but that makes the whole dish too sweet, since you use brown sugar w/ the onion as well as orange juice. So *definitely* don't use sweetened dried cranberries or fresh cranberries. Try to find unsweetened dried cranberries for the best balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States