Harvest Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
It was really bland I think next time I would add some more spices like celery seed or something else salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Add some sausage or brats and make it man-friendly! Rosemary gives it a little something special too - not so overwhelmingly pumpkiny. Most people go "eeeew" if you tell them it's pumpkin soup, but if you say "harvest soup" they are a little more apt to try it. I used cream once and half & half another time. Cream is far richer, but the later was easier on the digestion, waistline & wallet. Tweek this soup up with other vegies if you don't like the stand-alone flavor of squash/pumpkin, & remember, you can use other squash varieties too. Even mix & match them. BTW: add some black beeans,pehaps a little corn and dried tomato & garnish with fried tortilla strips and make it mexican! Good basic recipe, but I don't like the pumpkin-only version. It doesn't have any nuanced scents or flavors...just pumpkin and terribly bland. As a base, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Don't know what type pumpkin I used but,I roasted it and pureed it. I love this simple and delicious soup. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Polaroidbaby,That was Sooo Funny !! Hats off to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Nice and rich, but very mildly flavored. I would saute a chopped onion at the beginning if I were to make it again. I would also add some paprika or even a bit of heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Very disappointed in this recipe. The chicken and pumpkin tastes do not go together well! I tried adding more cream and seasoning to detract from the chicken-ey flavor, but it didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I would deffinetly make when company comes and such a good recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I made this last fall and loved it. Put a leftover serving in the freezer and pulled it out in the middle of summer. After defrosting it, I tasted it and found that it is absolutely wonderful cold. A great summer soup and salad lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I had a large amount of pie pumpkins and wanted to try something new. This was great I gave it 4 stars because I did a little tweaking. I added an additional cup of pumpkin puree because my family likes thick soups. I didn’t have any whipping cream on had so I used evaporated milk, I also added some onion, garlic, cayenne pepper and black pepper to taste. This was a hit with my 4 ½ year old and husband and we will be serving on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States