Harvest Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
It was really bland I think next time I would add some more spices like celery seed or something else salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Add some sausage or brats and make it man-friendly! Rosemary gives it a little something special too - not so overwhelmingly pumpkiny. Most people go "eeeew" if you tell them it's pumpkin soup, but if you say "harvest soup" they are a little more apt to try it. I used cream once and half & half another time. Cream is far richer, but the later was easier on the digestion, waistline & wallet. Tweek this soup up with other vegies if you don't like the stand-alone flavor of squash/pumpkin, & remember, you can use other squash varieties too. Even mix & match them. BTW: add some black beeans,pehaps a little corn and dried tomato & garnish with fried tortilla strips and make it mexican! Good basic recipe, but I don't like the pumpkin-only version. It doesn't have any nuanced scents or flavors...just pumpkin and terribly bland. As a base, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Don't know what type pumpkin I used but,I roasted it and pureed it. I love this simple and delicious soup. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Polaroidbaby,That was Sooo Funny !! Hats off to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Nice and rich, but very mildly flavored. I would saute a chopped onion at the beginning if I were to make it again. I would also add some paprika or even a bit of heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Very disappointed in this recipe. The chicken and pumpkin tastes do not go together well! I tried adding more cream and seasoning to detract from the chicken-ey flavor, but it didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I would deffinetly make when company comes and such a good recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I made this last fall and loved it. Put a leftover serving in the freezer and pulled it out in the middle of summer. After defrosting it, I tasted it and found that it is absolutely wonderful cold. A great summer soup and salad lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I had a large amount of pie pumpkins and wanted to try something new. This was great I gave it 4 stars because I did a little tweaking. I added an additional cup of pumpkin puree because my family likes thick soups. I didn’t have any whipping cream on had so I used evaporated milk, I also added some onion, garlic, cayenne pepper and black pepper to taste. This was a hit with my 4 ½ year old and husband and we will be serving on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States