Harvest Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I loved this recipe! I have always wanted to try pumpkin soup when I found this recipe I figured I would try it out. I love it. I used canned pumpkin instead of fresh. It is wonderfully creamy and rich. It is great with some soft dinner rolls or french bread. I added a little bit of pumpkins spice the second time I made it. It adds just a little more flavor. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Made recipe almost as posted (no whipping cream, used half and half). Soup was alright. Maybe I will add the onions next time. I would also cut down on the sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Our family liked this fall soup, but with a twist. I added cinnamon, and brown surgar, to sweeten this soup up a bit! A great seasonal soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This soup was wonderful. I added onions, but that was the only variation. Full of flavor and a definite make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
My husband had a pumpkin soup in a little place out in the middle of nowhere and I have been trying to FIND that recipe ever since, I think I found it, it was wonderful and so easy! Used my own homegrown pumpkins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graham Family Farm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
It's important to note that the recipe calls for SUGAR PUMPKIN, which is different from the generic, Jack O' Lantern pumpkins that supermarkets have for display. Ask the manager of the market or go to a local one to find Sugar/Sugar Pie Pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Too bland. Definitely needs onion, carrot, potato roasted along with the pumpkin and a touch of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Many years ago, I first had pumpkin soup at a restaurant in northern Minnesota. I remembered it had sage in it, but I was never able to find another recipe containing sage, so when I saw this, I had to try it. It was very similar to that first soup, with the following changes: I pureed the pumpkin in the food processor, then added an onion that I had fried until it was soft, but not brown. I blitzed that a few seconds, so that the onion wouldn't be completely incorporated. I left out the nutmeg, added another half teaspoon of sage, and a bit more salt. I halved amount of cream, and didn't use the sour cream. Now that I've found this, I'll be using it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This soup was really bland. Once I added some ancho pepper, garlic powder and onion powder it was okay, but nothing I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I love soups made with winter squash/pumpkin, but what constitutes a "small sugar pumpkin?" It would be very helpful to have a measurement of the actual amount of the cooked pumpkin. Even the weight of the pumpkin would be helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States