Harvest Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I thought this was very tasty! My hubby wasn't too crazy about it but I think he was expecting a sweet soup and this is not. Also, I used Pie Pumpkins which I've learned are the same as sugar pumpkins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This soup was not good. None of my family cared for it. The recipe is bland, and yes I tried spicing it up, but it didn't help it enough to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this for my in-laws for a day-after thanksgiving meal to go along with all the leftovers. I thought it was fabulous, and my in-laws (not to adventurous in nature) tried it and liked it. I didn't make any changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Decided to use the last pumpkin in cold storage and tried this soup. Not what I expected. Very weird tasting. I gave it to the cows and they wouldn't even eat it. Sorry not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was a good, flavorful soup. Roasting the pumpkin was the hardest part, but even that wasn't too bad. I'm not sure what kind of pumpkin I had, so to be safe, I added a tablespoon or two of honey at the end. I also roasted the pumpkin seeds to use as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. Maybe I did something wrong, but its pretty simple so I dont see how, sorry...it sounded great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I didn't care for the sage in this recipe. Just didn't seem to go with the pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
WOW. Elegant. Subtle. Mellow. This soup exceeded my expectations. The only drawback is that the pumpkin prep is a bit time consuming, especially since, due to my small kitchen, I have a small Cuisinart and had to puree the pumpkin, then the puree and stock, in batches. But it was oh-so-worth-it! The sage and nutmeg were subtle. It tasted like an elegant first course at a fine restaurant, really! Very easy to prepare and easy to make in advance of serving, and I would recommend making the puree of pumpkin and stock and adding the whipping cream just before serving. It also re-heats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Soquel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Made this with leftover Halloween pumpkins, medium size. Was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This soup was just wonderful! I used fresh pumpkin and omit the cream. I just wanted to have a more natural taste of the pumpkin. Also I added a few chunks of my pumpkin to the soup just to give more of a pumpkin taste. Pumpkin is light and has a taste somewhat similar to a potato. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meowmix318

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States