Harvest Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I've tried already for 2days 4 different recipies of Pumpkin soup. 2 recommended onion, carrot, celery, garlic, or the milk/evaporated milk and onion. Since i'm not so much a fan of onion in sweet soup, others didn't appeal to me, but this one -my last try- simply amazed me. If you want to have sweet pumpkin taste itself, but sweet and creamy, you will love this one. I'm so glad that I finally found one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I love soups made with winter squash/pumpkin, but what constitutes a "small sugar pumpkin?" It would be very helpful to have a measurement of the actual amount of the cooked pumpkin. Even the weight of the pumpkin would be helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
I used canned pumpkins instead. It was much easier and still very tasty! This soup will accompany our Thanksgiving dinner this year. Thanks for the delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Very good soup. I used canned pumpkin to save time AND I also thought it needed a little extra flavor so I added some orange juice. Turned out fantastic! My dad couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This soup was excellent and easy to make for an unexperienced cook. The only thing I added was a little fresh ground pepper on top before serving. One thing that I think is helpful to know is that one blender full of pumpkin mixed with the 3 cups of chicken stock was the right amount for great tasting creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
It's important to note that the recipe calls for SUGAR PUMPKIN, which is different from the generic, Jack O' Lantern pumpkins that supermarkets have for display. Ask the manager of the market or go to a local one to find Sugar/Sugar Pie Pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I enjoyed the process of making this soup. It was a lot of fun. However, it was a tad bland but I doubled the nutmeg and sage and instead of putting a spoonful of sour cream in each bowl, I used 3/4 of a 8oz sour cream tub and just mixed it right in to all of th soup. That kicked it up just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
I added a just little poblano chili and ancho chili for spiciness for my Mexican husband. The sour creme didn't want to blend very well so I put the soup in the blender half way through the cooking process. Amoung the fourteen dinner guests I had today it was a five with all of them! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I always make pumpkin soup with garlic and onion, but tried it with sage and nutmeg, as well as cream, this time. I couldn't really taste the spices in my soup, but the cream was a great addition. I also mixed in a dash of cayenne pepper and sprinkled fresh chopped parsley and fresh ground pepper on top. A big hit. No one thought it was bland, but you can always add more salt if need be. I served it in a cooked hollowed pumpkin shell and the presentation was great. I have heard (never tried) that curry is good in pumpkin soup also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
An easy recipe, but really bland, even after adding extra spicing. I was glad for the sour cream as that was really the only tasty part of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States