Harvest Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
to salty and hard to tell the measurements with "small pumpkin"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
If you are looking for a way to make this dairy free, you can substitute goat milk for the whipping cream and it turns out great! I've made it both ways and I can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years and it'a amazing. I always use 2 sugar pumpkins plus a butternut squash and adjust the other ingredients by adding more chicken stock, cream and spices to accomodate the squash. The butternut squash makes it sweet, rich and more flavorful. I also add some cracked pepper at the end of cooking for additional flavor. If you don't know what sugar pumpins are, they are the same as pie pumpkins, which you can get at the produce section of most grocery stores and at farmer's markets this time of year. Delicious...give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I made this and didnt change anything, other than using canned pumpkin in the recipe. When I put the recipe in my allrecipe's shopping list it called for SEVEN cups of pumpkin. I used 2 of the large cans of pumpkin puree and I didnt have an issue with thickness- it was very thick and creamy. I was a bit worried about the recipe- soooo many comments had changed so many things, but I decided to just follow it and it was very good- subtle, and delicious. I have had many pumpkin soups and this was the best I have had- it retained it pumpkin flavor. **If you are looking to slurp pumpkin pie, this isnt the recipe for you, but there are a lot of comments with sweeter variations. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I don't know if I did something wrong, but it was not good for me. I did follow someones directions that said it was bland so they doubled the spices. I was expecting slightly sweet. It was salty. Also two pumpkins made a . I have a ton of mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pila48

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
As written, this recipe didn't do much for me. Then I doubled the spices, added addl 1/3 c brown sugar, 1/4 c sweet onion sauteed & pureed with one medium boiled carrot and about 1/4 c milk. Now we're cooking! I put some in the crock pot this morning to see if I can make it that good twice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I used about 20 oz of canned pumpkin, 1 1/2 tablespoons of sugar and 1 tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice. the only thing i wish was different was the thickness. its a little to watery for me but overall it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was outstanding. I hated pumpkin soup until I ate this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I didn't care for the combination of flavors. However, I think it depends on one's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Love this pumpkin soup & have made it several times, changing it every time. I have used pumpkin in the can, in addition, have put in 2 pre-cooked skinned yams. I have sauteed fresh baby carrots & they gave the soup a zing. Yummy! Tonight for my community cooking club, I am going to try the spicy approach with the hot pepper flakes, topped with the sour creme dollop, some mint (for show) & a sprinkle of paprika for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Acc Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States