Harvest Pumpkin Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ewolfe13
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Fabulous recipe. I must admit I used a different frosting (cinnamon coffee from this site) but the cupcakes themselves were light and fluffy and delicious. I doubt they will last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ewolfe13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Made this for Recipe Group and oh man, are these DELICIOUS!!!!! I maed them exactly as written, and feel no changes are necessary. I got 35 cupcakes out of the recipe and I baked them @ 325 degrees for only 14 minutes (my oven is super HOT). The icing is VERY sweet, but it really compliments the cupcake nicely. I did add a drop of orange oil, just to get a better orange flavor. I was able to ice about 18 cupcakes, but I like a lot of icing, so if you are just gonna spread it on, there should be plenty. I decided to freeze the un-iced cupcakes for another time. I really can't believe how fantastic these turned out...I will be making these many, many more times~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I made this recipe as is. Icing and all. They are amazingly delicious. Not need to change a thing. I got 3 dozen regular sized cupcakes. I also topped with candied orange peel and a pecan half. These really made me fell like Fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I made these for Recipe Group and they are Outstanding!! This is the best Pumpkin Spice Cake and the icing is to die for. Definately one of our favorite pumpkin recipes that we have ever tried. The cake is moist, tender, perfectly spiced, not overly sweet and best of all - you can really taste the pumpkin. The spices and sweetness do not overpower the pumpkin flavor. The orange buttercream is delicious and is a perfect match. I followed the recipe with the exception of using reg Pure Vanilla Extract (not the 100% Pure Bourbon Vanilla) and would not change a thing. This recipe will be used often, not only during the fall/Holidays, but all year. Our new favorite. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
made these for the recipe group, they turned out quite dense and were too sweet for our tastes. I used my own pumpkin spice made up of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves. The plain muffins were fine and I really liked the taste of the orange added to the icing. Next time I will cut the sugar in half in the muffins and use icing for all of them. I would also like to reduce the oil and add some apple sauce. Recipe made 12 extra large muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
these were sooo good they were light and airy but still moist and yummy! they were so good plain that we didn't even make the frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wolfgarshoney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I made this as the Recipe Buzz Group Recipe for the week of September 27th. I could NOT be more thrilled with these. The cake part is so light, airy, & soft! I was expecting quickbread muffins at best but what I got was actual pumpkin cake! (I've never tasted pumpkin cake before -- many pumpkin quickbreads, but never the light fluffiness of actual cake with pumpkin!) For the frosting I used: 1 tsp OJ, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp. orange extract (and the other ingredients as listed). This let me use less powdered sugar so my frosting isn't sickeningly sweet. It piped beautifully, and tastes like a Dreamsicle. This recipe produced ONLY 24 cupcakes for me. They baked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes and 35 minutes in 2 different brands of muffin tin. Lastly, when my photo is up, I used a Wilton 1M tip to pipe (outside in, concentric circles). There is just enough frosting for 24 cupcakes using a 1M but I'm sure is plenty for smaller tips or knife-spreading. Thanks so much for the recipe, I can't wait to share these! UPDATE: I tried to get out of making these this year & made apple cake instead & DH had a FIT. He came as close to mutiny as he ever would in my kitchen, so today I made these for him to take to work and we ate the apple cake ourselves, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
These are wonderful cupcakes. Just a little sweet - almost more like a muffin. I put a chocolate cream cheese frosting on them and they were heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
These are awesome! The taste of a Pumpkin Roll without all the work. However, the baking time only needs to be 20mins. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susieq

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boiling Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I've been seeing these around a lot and decided to make them, but only a half batch just in case we didn't like them. All I can say is these are one of the best cupcakes I've ever made. The cake is moist and delicious with the perfect taste of Fall. And the frosting, wow, I can't wait to try it on other cupcakes. It is amazing. I suggest that everyone gives this one a try because you don't know what you're missing until you've tried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States