Harvest Loaf Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This is really good. I haven't made it in several years, I just found the print out of the recipe card when I was looking for something else at home. I'll have to make it again. I do remember it well, though, and remember that I didn't ice it and it was still super good. I also made mini loaves to give as little gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Good recipe! I have made it twice now. The 1st time I made it just as it said, but the second time, I thought I'd try pumpkin pie spice instead of all the spices it called for, the cinnamon added a really nice flavor, I think I'll do it that way from now on. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Prosser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Alesia said o.k. Mrs. Ronna asked for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This is one of my favorite holiday breads, my mom would make it every year and I would gobble it up. We always wait until the next day to cut it- so it would set. The other thing we do is lighten up the glaze by using milk instead. That way the glaze would not be sticky, and we can wrap it up for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
superb!!!! I used chocolate chunks instead of chips and the whole loaf disappeared in less than 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Disappointing! Dry, too much salt, not sweet enough, and could use some cinnamon in the batter. This recipe is more like a quickbread than a cake. I won't bake it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
My husband was very excited about this cake, until I told him it had pumpkin in it. Then his face fell. I wasn't looking forward to his reaction to the cake as I'd already suffered criticism over dinner, but when he tasted it he just went crazy. It was like he couldn't stop eating it. We finished over half the loaf that night. It's the best cake I've ever tasted, and I wouldn't change a thing. Oh wait, I did change a couple of things. I used brown sugar instead of white, and left out the chocolate chips and walnuts, because I wanted a more gingerbread-like flavour. I also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 2 tsp baking powder as I didn't have any baking soda. I think next time I may add raisins in place of the chocolate chips and walnuts. I think they'd go well with the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Good except to much nutmeg. We used raisings instead of choc chips also. Will make again with less nutmeg, & salt. Would add a little more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
I love this recipe! I added a bit more nuts and left out the chocolate chips. The glaze is just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
My house smelled wonderful as this was baking. Have made this several times. I now add a bit more pumpkin and use mini chocolate chips. The larger chips were too much chocolate. Good for brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States