Harvest Loaf Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I'm giving this a 4 stars only because there's a typo in the amount on ingredients. This recipe is close to the one I have inherited EXCEPT it only calls for 1/2 tsp. salt AND for 1 tsp. cinnamon for the batter. I usually use the entire can of pumpkin instead of just 3/4 can, and I make 1.5 of the glaze for a large loaf. I'm not a big pumpkin fan but I love this recipe! This time, I made 7 mini loafs (probably could squeeze it all into 6 mini loafs with longer baking time) using a double batch and I baked them for ~35 minutes. It's looking good so far! Hope my coworkers will like them as I'm giving them as gifts this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe for years,,,,family loved it! However, I lost the recipe when I moved. So, I am so happy it was listed in All Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Best pumpkin loaf recipe I've ever made. I made this loaf for "coffee hour" at a retirement home. Made two other loaves as well (a banana loaf and an apple loaf) but this was the most popular one. Thanks SO much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This cake has been a holiday tradition in our family for over 35 years. I believe my mother got it in cookbook she obtained while we were stationed in Germany. "Our" recipe includes 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. The chocolate chips in the recipe make the cake just sweet enough to satisfy a sweet tooth. I've given the cake as gifts to co-workers an casual friends during the holidays over the years and it is ALWAYS a big hit. I've never met anyone that didn't really enjoy it. In addition to including the cinnamon into "our" recipe, we also have been known to substitute 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves. The substitution doesn't seem to affect the flavor to any measurable degree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Instead of eggs and butter, i just used more pumpkin puree! Plus I used spelt and flaxmeal instead of all-purpose. Super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slycooley24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Giving this only four stars because the spice amounts are wrong. Should be 1 tsp. ground cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg, 1/4 tsp. ground ginger, and 1/4 tsp. ground cloves. My mother made this for years, recipe came from a pumpkin company. With the correct spice mix, this is a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I followed the directions exactly and the outcome was not quite as moist as one would hope. It also was not as sweet as I would have liked it to be. I am going to experiment with different recipes; as I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This turned out really great. I did health it up a bit and used whole wheat white flour, homemade organic applesauce for half the butter, I halved the sugar and I used organic eggs and pumpkin. I did add a teaspoon each of vanilla and baking powder and I used pecans instead of walnuts because my family does not like walnuts. I actually made these into twelve muffins and just divided the topping evenly between the twelve muffins. These turned out perfect--quite moist and very flavorful even without the excess sugar. EDIT: My husband liked these pretty well, he ate six himself last night. My oldest boy at three for breakfast this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
We enjoyed this bread, but it is a little dry. I think that there are better pumpkin breads out there that if you simply added chocolate chips to would be better than this. The glaze is awesome and I don't think I would have liked the cake without it. I would agree with a previous reviewer that this is more of a quick bread than a cake. It is, however, a beautiful cake with the glaze on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
We grew up making this for Christmas presents. Freezes very well. Have never made with a frosting -- doesn't need one at all. Fabulous warmed up a bit for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States