Harvest Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I tried this recipe using in a crockpot. I marinated my meat overnight in a combination of beer, worchestershire, soy sauce and garlic. I've been looking forward to it allllll day (the aroma has filled my house for hours) and now i'm a bit dissapointed. It's way too sweet. I didn't know how to fix that so I added worchestershire and that made it worce! It's definatley edible but I think where I went wrong was in the deglazing step. I went ahead and added the vinigar and sugar and scrapped the reminants from the meat, added some of the broth to that and then dumped the mixture in with everything else into my crockpot. I think in the recipe the sweet mixture should have been absorbed by the veggies as was not the case in my version. ALSO i didn't add all the beer because of the other reviews and the beer i did use i think was to sweet. I think it needs a dark beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISHY_MI
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Very Very good. Only thing I added was a little bit of beef stew base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
November 2009. Used mostly fresh ingredients (still) from our eastern Washington garden, cannot go wrong with this recipe!! And its great to thin down with broth for soup during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I've read the reviews before the attemp and added arrowroot w/Tamari sauce for a thickner;boiled the beer to lose the alcohol before adding to pot, out of celery added two turnips.Just had a bowl very tasty.and today its freezing outside & windy.Will keep this one it the recipe box .Thanks Only 4 stars because i don't eat much meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was a great creation, but it did need modifications for my taste. First, I used a pot since I feel that stews need to sit and cook slowly for optimal flavor and tenderness. Second, since I am not a beer drinker, I used about 1 and a half bottles, and not the entire 2. To go with the theme of the season, I used Samuel Adams October-fest Ale. Second, there was something missing from flavor, so to jazz it up a bit I added a few beef bullion packets and a 1/2 of cup of Worcestershire sauce - that perfected it for me for flavor. Finally, I agree with most of the other posters that it was not thick enough and too soupy so I did thicken it with some cornstarch - that was it! I will make this again, but with the additional modifications I did. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Green One

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Newfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This was very good, but hubby didn't care for it. Lots of yummy veggies, but the beer added a bitter after taste - maybe a less bitter beer would help (I used the recommended type). It never got the consistancy of "stew" it was more like soup. I had to add several tablespoons of cornstarch and it got a little thicker... I felt like it was missing something to "finish it". Not sure what that is, yet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This is very good, but it's soup not stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Excellent taste! I didnt use the bacon drippings, but rather used good olive oil to save the calories/fat. I also forgot the celery, but I didnt notice at all. This stew was YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is truly wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CULINARYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Pine Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States