Harvest Apple Streusel Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is a good recipe. The one thing I would definitely change in the future is the crust. The graham cracker crust did not taste very good, as there was no sugar in it. It kind of tasted like buttered breadcrumbs. Traditional graham cracker crust is always a little sweet. I think adding a little sugar to the crust will greatly improve the taste. I really liked how beautifully it cut into squares. Using the parchment paper was excellent; It baked very well. I can my own apple pie filling, so this is a quick and easy dessert to make when in a hurry. As suggested by another reviewer, I added an extra egg, which was a good idea. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Can I make this with fresh apples ? I don't like apple pie filling .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Easy to make, easy to serve, and quite yummy! I did omit the cranberry topping but everything else was as instructed. I think this would be really good with cherry pie filling, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I sub'd peach pie filling and blueberry flavored dried cranberries as well as lower fat options and it was an amazing collection of flavors and textures that we just loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This quickly became my family's favorite Apple dessert. I've made it about 5 times now and it does not stay around too long. Easy enough to make, even easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian M Boccuzzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made 2 batches of these for a work party, one using cream cheese, the other using tofu. We liked the tofu ones better than the cream cheese, it was not as rich. Both of my batches seemed to come out runny, but I was in a rush, so I probably messed something up. I will make them again this year for the holidays using tofu :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I made this for work and they loved it. I did add an extra egg and left out the cranberries since I didn't have any. Other than that no changes and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
These were okay. I needed to bring a dessert to a thanksgiving dinner, and I wanted something else besides pie, so I found this recipe. I doubled the recipe and it made exactly enough for a 11 x 15 jelly roll pan. I was disappointed that the pie filling just sunk through the cream cheese filling, it did not spread nicely on top at all, even though I made it plenty thick and sliced the apples thinly. So the apple pie layer just kind of mixed with the cream cheese layer. The crust, cream cheese filling, and apple pie filling was already so sweet that I decided to not put any cranberries and nuts in the streusel part. There already seemed like there was enough "stuff" in these bars so I omitted them, and just added some cinnamon and spices to the strusel instead. When it was baked and cooled, it sliced very nicely and you could kinda see the layers, but not like I had hoped. People said they were good and quite a few got eaten, but I think I would have been better off just making an apple pie! However, I think this is a great concept for a recipe, and with a little tweaking here and there, I think I could make them better. With a little imagination, you could use different fruit fillings and toppings, it may come out a little better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States