Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
It was great...tastes just like the ones I buy at the store
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
These tasted exactly as they should - sweet and sour... perfect. In order for the sauce to thicken you need to make sure that the liquid comes to a boil; then reduce and simmer for a few minutes. Cornstarch requires the boiling point to activate as a thickener. Thanks for this! Lara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Beets are an absolute passion with me thanks to my grandparents!I love them-and for me every holiday meal requires harvard beets...beautiful on the plate and deliscious...these cook up fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I had a microwave Harvard Beets recipe, but I thought I would give this one a go...easy, and delicious...I used some fresh frozen beets, simmered in about a half cup of water till thawed....added the remaining ingredients, and threw in a tablespoon of butter to make them glossy, and they were exactly as I had hoped they would be....so delish....Im having the rest for a before-bed snack tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammylou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Brydges, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Hello to all teh Allrecipes cooks,I am not a beet eater but my Mom Husband & Daughter-In-Law are.My husband stated he only likes pickled beets but,I used this recipe and everyone liked this,even my husband could not rave enough about them. I did however add about 2tbl.of sour cream to the beets and all said,they really liked the taste it gave to them.My daughter-in-law is a good cook and she wants the recipe. I love having Allrecipes to go to I use it weekly. Thanks for being here when I need help- Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This Harvard Beet recipe is perfect. It is just what I was looking for and tastes just like you would get at a restaurant. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHLLAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I've never had beets before and I have to say I am now a beet fan. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CVirginiaKing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This was excellent! My father asked for more the moment he tried it and he isn't a veggie kind of guy. I did heed the other reviewers re: boiling before simmering. It took a little longer than recommended timeto have the consistency I wanted, but delicious and easy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
We have used this recipe many a time, I am making for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Good recipe. Quick and easy to prepare. Good balance of sweet and sour. Will use this recipe again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States