Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
My mother's recipe was simple and delicious. She made the best Harvard beets. I use the recipe to can a whole garden of beets. She used equal parts beet juice, vinegar, and sugar. The beets were cleaned and cooked and the peelings removed. The juice from the beets, plus sugar, and vinegar were measured equally and mixed. Beets were sliced and popped into jars with juice poured leaving 1" room at the top. Save juice in case you need more. Can as directed. These are THE BEST. Someone once gave my mother $20 to can a bunch of beets from the store. Worth every penny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Love this recipe, Husband loves Harvard Beets, so I had to try them....Excellent!!!And quick & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
OLD FAMILY RECIPE...BEEN MAKING HARVARD BEETS FOR OVER 60 YEARS WITH SLICED, DICED, OR SMALL WHOLE BEETS, 4 GENERATIONS GREW UP WITH THIS RECIPE...3/4 CUP SUGAR, 2 TEASP CORN STARCH, 1/3 CUP VINEGAR, 4 CUPS COOKED BEETS, 3 TBLSP BUTTER, 1/4 TEASP SALT, 1/8 TEASP PEPPER, 1/4 TEASP GROUND CLOVE. BRING TO A BOIL, ADD BEETS AND HEAT. FOR VARIETY WE SOMETIMES ADD A FEW RAISINS TO SAUCE WHILE HEATING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
4 stars Use 2 Tblsp cornstarch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Great Recipe! Great flavor, a liitle to sweet for me and the sauce was not thick enough. I will use this recipe again and modify it to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These are fantastic! I didn't have 1/2 a cup of white vinegar so I just used red wine vinegar and it turned out fantastic...definately on my to-do list again!! Thanks for a superb recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Very good! The only change I made was to use splenda (actually it was the sugar blend) in place of the sugar. This is a super simple and quick side dish. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! My grandma always made beets this way and this recipe is just like hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy's Personal Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Thank you so much for the recipe. My MIL used to make these and I needed the recipe. I am surprising my husband with these tonight. Perfect recipe for beets. Makes them so tasty. Wouldn't change a thing in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2cook500

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
We enjoyed this recipe. My sauce did not thicken as I would have like it, but would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States