Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
I used fresh beets and had a little more juice than a 16 oz can would have had so I had to adjust the recipe. I'm very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
Almost exactly like the jar of Harvard beets I've bought at the store but much cheaper. I've made this several times as written. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
I made this recipe for the first time last evening. I used roasted, fresh beets, to which I followed the recipe with the exception that I used Agave to sweeten. We don't use white sugar. And, as a reviewer suggested, I added a tablespoon of butter prior to serving. My husband told me they were the best beets that he has ever had. Needless to say, this recipe is written in ink for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Perfect . Just the right taste , and easy to make . I Love them , and so will my friends . Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyle Priddle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I used fresh beets, and it was the first time I ever cooked with them. Mine were fairly large, so I simmered them for just over an hour, then placed them in cold water; the skin peeled off easily with a dull knife. I wasn't sure if I should save the liquid they boiled in; I didn't and it all worked out in the end. I just added the rest of the ingredients to a saucepan (dissolving the cornstarch in a little water) and then added the beets that I sliced. Let it cook a minute or two. It produced a nice, thick sauce, and the beets absorbed it. Just what I was hoping for. I already made the Honey Beet Salad from this site, which I highly recommend. Thanks for the great recipe, Shearyah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I love beets and they are so good for you. This was so quick and easy. The only change I made, since I'm off sugar, is that I substituted about 1/3 cup honey instead of sugar. At the end I did add a pat of butter. Sooo good!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Greensburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessalynnc
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Delicious, even my 1 & 2 year old boys eat these. No modifications needed. I plan to attempt to make these with fresh beets this coming summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
YUM! So easy and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Very good beet recipe, I will use it again and again. I did however use two tablespoons of cornstarch. As 1 reviewer stated, you need the beet juice to boil in order for the cornstarch to thicken and it does not thicken right away it takes a few minutes and stir frequently. The amount of cornstarch you use depends on the desired thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I used fresh roasted beets and added a cup of water to make up for the juice from the can. Some others commented that they thought this should be sweeter, but I loved the sharp hit of vinegar that hits your nose as you bring the beets close to your face. This tasted just like my mom's. Following another reviewer's suggestion, I brought the sauce to a full boil and let it thicken up. It stuck to the beets well. Using cider vinegar seem like it would be yummy, too! I might try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azure C. Wilson

Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States