Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I also added just a pinch of cloves - just like mom used to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Great beet recipe. I substituted apple cider vinegar instead of white. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I like beets almost any way they're made, but I'd never heard of this - I get the feeling it's a classic recipe. I measured out the exact quantity of beets, since I didn't have cans of the given size. My sauce didn't thicken either (well, maybe a tiny bit). From the reviews, I gather that maybe the sauce should be quite a bit thicker than I obtained. I noted one reviewer's tips on this, and I'll follow them if/when I make this again. That said, the sauce was very tasty - a mildly sweet/sour syrup that accompanied the beets very nicely - a kind of new-and-improved beet juice. Thanks for a nice side dish - I'll put it into my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Hello to all teh Allrecipes cooks,I am not a beet eater but my Mom Husband & Daughter-In-Law are.My husband stated he only likes pickled beets but,I used this recipe and everyone liked this,even my husband could not rave enough about them. I did however add about 2tbl.of sour cream to the beets and all said,they really liked the taste it gave to them.My daughter-in-law is a good cook and she wants the recipe. I love having Allrecipes to go to I use it weekly. Thanks for being here when I need help- Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Beets are an absolute passion with me thanks to my grandparents!I love them-and for me every holiday meal requires harvard beets...beautiful on the plate and deliscious...these cook up fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
We have used this recipe many a time, I am making for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
My husband actually thought the sauce tasted like sweet and sour sauce. I wouldn't use this recipe for beets again, but I might use it to make the sauce for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Yummy! This is exactly what I was looking for. I've always loved beets anyway, but these were just the right sweet/sour combination. My sauce didn't thicken either, a little more cornstarch would take care of that. I also used the little tiny whole beets instead of the slices and added about 1 Tbsp. of butter right before I put the beets in the sauce. They were so good, Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
Have been looking for a beet recipe that tasted like my grandmother's and mother's. Bingo! This was just wonderful and brought back many wonderful memories. Because I've been watching the carbs I used Splenda instead of sugar and added about 1 T. of butter to make the sauce glossy. It still tasted great without using real sugar. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I thought it could be less sweet but was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States