Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I like beets almost any way they're made, but I'd never heard of this - I get the feeling it's a classic recipe. I measured out the exact quantity of beets, since I didn't have cans of the given size. My sauce didn't thicken either (well, maybe a tiny bit). From the reviews, I gather that maybe the sauce should be quite a bit thicker than I obtained. I noted one reviewer's tips on this, and I'll follow them if/when I make this again. That said, the sauce was very tasty - a mildly sweet/sour syrup that accompanied the beets very nicely - a kind of new-and-improved beet juice. Thanks for a nice side dish - I'll put it into my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Hello to all teh Allrecipes cooks,I am not a beet eater but my Mom Husband & Daughter-In-Law are.My husband stated he only likes pickled beets but,I used this recipe and everyone liked this,even my husband could not rave enough about them. I did however add about 2tbl.of sour cream to the beets and all said,they really liked the taste it gave to them.My daughter-in-law is a good cook and she wants the recipe. I love having Allrecipes to go to I use it weekly. Thanks for being here when I need help- Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Beets are an absolute passion with me thanks to my grandparents!I love them-and for me every holiday meal requires harvard beets...beautiful on the plate and deliscious...these cook up fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
We have used this recipe many a time, I am making for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
My husband actually thought the sauce tasted like sweet and sour sauce. I wouldn't use this recipe for beets again, but I might use it to make the sauce for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Yummy! This is exactly what I was looking for. I've always loved beets anyway, but these were just the right sweet/sour combination. My sauce didn't thicken either, a little more cornstarch would take care of that. I also used the little tiny whole beets instead of the slices and added about 1 Tbsp. of butter right before I put the beets in the sauce. They were so good, Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
Have been looking for a beet recipe that tasted like my grandmother's and mother's. Bingo! This was just wonderful and brought back many wonderful memories. Because I've been watching the carbs I used Splenda instead of sugar and added about 1 T. of butter to make the sauce glossy. It still tasted great without using real sugar. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I thought it could be less sweet but was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This was excellent! My father asked for more the moment he tried it and he isn't a veggie kind of guy. I did heed the other reviewers re: boiling before simmering. It took a little longer than recommended timeto have the consistency I wanted, but delicious and easy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
These tasted exactly as they should - sweet and sour... perfect. In order for the sauce to thicken you need to make sure that the liquid comes to a boil; then reduce and simmer for a few minutes. Cornstarch requires the boiling point to activate as a thickener. Thanks for this! Lara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States