Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Yum yum, just like mom used to make! I eat them cold without constrarch as a salad topper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Delish! but there was waaaay too much sauce. Im saving itit in my fridge while I try to figure out what else i can use it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zafina Fluke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Perfect seasoning. I used 1/4 cup of sugar and 6 Tablespoons of cider vinegar and about half of the beet juice with the tablespoon of cornstarch and no salt, it came out just as my family likes it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very good recipe. To use fresh beets, leave whole with 1-2" of top stems attached. Cover with water and simmer until tender (30-40min for 2" beets). Drain and cover with cold water until cool enough to handle; then simply rub the skins off. If skins are stubborn, scrape off with blunt edge of plastic knife. Then proceed with recipe, adding water as needed to adjust taste. May add 1-2 tbsp. butter after completion if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Just what I had a taste for. Reminds me of how my grandmother made them 40 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
A blast from the past! Just like momma used to make. I used 2 cans of beets to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I chose this recipe as the one to use for fixing beets for the first time and introducing them to my 3 year old daughter. I thought they were wonderful, but they were a bit too sour for her so I'll reduce the vinegar a bit from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Recipe is ok, but a bit sweet. An easier method is to use bottled or home prepared pickled beets. Use the juice, add two tbsp of cornstarch and I add a 1/4 cup of orange juice to add a bit of flavor. Boil the above until thickened then add the beets and continue cooking until beets are at desired temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary in TX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
My family loves Harvard Beets and since we can't find them canned anymore i thought i would look for a recipe. This recipe is excellent! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by y-vonne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Not bad for a basic recipe but needs some tweaking. Needs a bit more cornstarch and a bit of butter. I love Harvard beets and this recipe was ok ... just not the best I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States