Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Just what I had a taste for. Reminds me of how my grandmother made them 40 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
A blast from the past! Just like momma used to make. I used 2 cans of beets to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I chose this recipe as the one to use for fixing beets for the first time and introducing them to my 3 year old daughter. I thought they were wonderful, but they were a bit too sour for her so I'll reduce the vinegar a bit from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Recipe is ok, but a bit sweet. An easier method is to use bottled or home prepared pickled beets. Use the juice, add two tbsp of cornstarch and I add a 1/4 cup of orange juice to add a bit of flavor. Boil the above until thickened then add the beets and continue cooking until beets are at desired temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary in TX
Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
My family loves Harvard Beets and since we can't find them canned anymore i thought i would look for a recipe. This recipe is excellent! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by y-vonne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Not bad for a basic recipe but needs some tweaking. Needs a bit more cornstarch and a bit of butter. I love Harvard beets and this recipe was ok ... just not the best I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This was a great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Trail, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
My mother's recipe was simple and delicious. She made the best Harvard beets. I use the recipe to can a whole garden of beets. She used equal parts beet juice, vinegar, and sugar. The beets were cleaned and cooked and the peelings removed. The juice from the beets, plus sugar, and vinegar were measured equally and mixed. Beets were sliced and popped into jars with juice poured leaving 1" room at the top. Save juice in case you need more. Can as directed. These are THE BEST. Someone once gave my mother $20 to can a bunch of beets from the store. Worth every penny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Love this recipe, Husband loves Harvard Beets, so I had to try them....Excellent!!!And quick & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
OLD FAMILY RECIPE...BEEN MAKING HARVARD BEETS FOR OVER 60 YEARS WITH SLICED, DICED, OR SMALL WHOLE BEETS, 4 GENERATIONS GREW UP WITH THIS RECIPE...3/4 CUP SUGAR, 2 TEASP CORN STARCH, 1/3 CUP VINEGAR, 4 CUPS COOKED BEETS, 3 TBLSP BUTTER, 1/4 TEASP SALT, 1/8 TEASP PEPPER, 1/4 TEASP GROUND CLOVE. BRING TO A BOIL, ADD BEETS AND HEAT. FOR VARIETY WE SOMETIMES ADD A FEW RAISINS TO SAUCE WHILE HEATING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States