Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
My Papa has made these for years and this is my favorite way to eats beets. The sweet with the tang is incredible. Husband doesn't eat beets so I freeze the leftovers in a container in a single layer then use as needed. Yummy yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
simply a great recipe , whole family loved it, tonight I'm going to add some balsamic vinegar to the sauce, bet its going to be good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I do not normally like beets, but these are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
It is very rare that I see fresh beets in my area. so when I do, I snatch them up for borscht and harvard style beets. I will not used canned -- they are anemic and have no flavour. I use two parts sugar to one part apple cider vinegar, a teaspoon of salt and a 1/2 teaspoon of dillweed, and cook until the roots are tender. I cool, add 2 tsp of cornstarch, mix in without lumps, and then reheat until the brilliant red sauce is as thick as Mamma's strawberry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was great. I needed a simple side dish for salmon, and found a can of beets in the cupboard. A quick search on allrecipes, and voila! Even picky husband enjoyed them. I did reduce the sugar by just a tad. Can't wait to try this recipe with fresh beets, which are a favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Great recipe, I took the advice of someone else and used 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar. I'm making more tonight because the beets were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Too much liquid...after lots of reducing, the flavour was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Pretty good. Second round ... Used fresh beets simmered in orange juice. Cider vinegar, a touch of mustard and thickened at the end with starch. Served topped with caramelized onions and goat cheese - pretty good turned fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Used Fresh Cooked Golden Beets.Let set in fridge a couple of days and even tasted better.Will Make again!Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petecook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I had some fresh beets to use and no idea what to do. I subbed apple cider vinegar for the white as another reviewer suggested, and tossed ingredients in without measuring b/c I only had a small amount of beets. And it was actually really good! I think it's important to use small baby beets though, with large beets there's no covering up that dirt-beet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States