Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Perfect . Just the right taste , and easy to make . I Love them , and so will my friends . Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyle Priddle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I used fresh beets, and it was the first time I ever cooked with them. Mine were fairly large, so I simmered them for just over an hour, then placed them in cold water; the skin peeled off easily with a dull knife. I wasn't sure if I should save the liquid they boiled in; I didn't and it all worked out in the end. I just added the rest of the ingredients to a saucepan (dissolving the cornstarch in a little water) and then added the beets that I sliced. Let it cook a minute or two. It produced a nice, thick sauce, and the beets absorbed it. Just what I was hoping for. I already made the Honey Beet Salad from this site, which I highly recommend. Thanks for the great recipe, Shearyah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I love beets and they are so good for you. This was so quick and easy. The only change I made, since I'm off sugar, is that I substituted about 1/3 cup honey instead of sugar. At the end I did add a pat of butter. Sooo good!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Greensburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessalynnc
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Delicious, even my 1 & 2 year old boys eat these. No modifications needed. I plan to attempt to make these with fresh beets this coming summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
YUM! So easy and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Very good beet recipe, I will use it again and again. I did however use two tablespoons of cornstarch. As 1 reviewer stated, you need the beet juice to boil in order for the cornstarch to thicken and it does not thicken right away it takes a few minutes and stir frequently. The amount of cornstarch you use depends on the desired thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I used fresh roasted beets and added a cup of water to make up for the juice from the can. Some others commented that they thought this should be sweeter, but I loved the sharp hit of vinegar that hits your nose as you bring the beets close to your face. This tasted just like my mom's. Following another reviewer's suggestion, I brought the sauce to a full boil and let it thicken up. It stuck to the beets well. Using cider vinegar seem like it would be yummy, too! I might try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Delicious and simple! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I used fresh beets and guessed at the amount of beet juice to use. It is an amazing recipe. I love the sweet and sour taste. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Louise Moss Snider

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Loved it! Did use melted butter to made a cream out of the corn starch then stirred in the other liquids, be sure to let it come to a boil while stirring to get the corn starch to thicken. Delicious! Made it for my 90 year old mother, she also loved it! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States