Haroset for Passover Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Alfia
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This was a delicious haroset. I used Gala apples as suggested, and substituted almonds and pecans for the walnuts. It does seem that the recipe calls for an awful lot of apples. I added extra nuts and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alfia
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
tried this recipe for the first time and it came out just great. this recipe is a keeper and and great sell. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Just like my mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACAMRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This recipe was well-received at our Passover. I used regular wine (instead of sweet) and just 4 Gala apples, and it turned out great. If you are looking for a cement-like haroset this is not it, but I find this consistency more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Great Recipe!!! I do not like Walnuts, so I used pecans. It worked out very well. I nuttier flavor. I also used Gala Apples, because I just read those are a great source of antioxidents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was a great haroset for our first Passover. Everyone loved it! Other recipes I've had were more paste-like, but I enjoyed this version as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Wonderful! I followed the recipe except for adding a mix of nuts instead of just walnuts. It was the perfect consistency and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Good recipe for haroset. Once you have the basic ingredients down you can play to your own tastes. I always like a few more nuts in mine. Also, note in the intro to this recipe that the amount of the finished product is 3 cups. 6 apples of the size I used was way to many for the 3-cup total -- even 4 apples were too many. I'd say 3-4 medium fuji or gala would work fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Very good. I used quite a bit more honey than it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Perfect! Even got the approval of great grandma!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States