Haroset for Passover Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Good, basic recipe. I use all honey rather than adding white sugar. Most of the ingredients you can add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I used pecans instead of walnuts. Huge hit!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Excellent. Try multiple types of apples for subtly interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Thank you, Jill! The first time I made this, we were celebrating Passover on a camping trip and I did not peel the apples. It was perfectly delicious with the apple skins. The second time I made this was for a family Seder. I peeled the apples, but to save time I used a Cuisinart to chop both the apples (one at a time to avoid applesauce) and walnuts. My only regret was the appearance of the charoset. It would have looked much nicer if I had hand chopped the apples. Nevertheless, the hostess of this Seder asked me to bring this charoset next year because she wants to make it a tradition. I heard several people comment on the charoset and go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
delicious! my sister-in-law usually makes haroset but she was out-of-town so i had to do it. i was hoping it would be as good as her's. i found it was better! i won't tell her though! i did add more wine and honey, it did need a pinch or two of salt. i also added fresh ground nutmeg and used half walnuts and half pecans. it was wonderful and gave it a nice nutty flavor. glad i found this recipe it was perfect. i even used the leftovers to put in my oatmeal it taste rich and wonderful! i did use a food processor to shred the apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was a really good traditional recipe - ours was the best I've had. Here are the changes we made: 1) used 4-5 small Fuji apples, unpeeled but cored - chopped further by food processor; 2) combined walnuts with chopped almonds and pecans for the 1 c. of nuts shown; 3) used port as the sweet red wine; 4) added some date sugar because we had some on hand - added some depth; 5) made it 48 hrs in advance and refrigerated until the passover dinner -- yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Huge hit - made last year for Passover; best haroset ever had. Making again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Big hit everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YAELIE24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I made this for our Seder, and it was absolutely excellent. I made a few very slight changes, but nothing drastic. Instead of peeling and chopping I grated the unpeeled apples using my food processor, which saved immensely on the prep time, and I left the peels on, since that's where most of the apple's nutrients are (buy organic if you're going to leave the peels on, though). Also, I added a bit more honey (about 2 TBS total) to help bind everything together. To get three cups of grated apples I needed 5 smallish gala apples. I got several compliments on this, and two separate people told me it was the best haroset they'd ever had. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Its a good recipe but way too much for 6 people after a big passover meal! Next time I wouls make 1/3 this amount and use 2 apples instead of 5. I added raisins and dates to this for extra flavor but it made it very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maslow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States