Haroset for Passover Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was our first experience with haroset, and we really (really) enjoyed it for our seder dinner. It was simple and affordable, and the results were delicious! Of course, we made changes, because that's what humans do. We used grape juice instead of wine, and we left the nuts out. Some of us added raisins to ours, but not everyone did. The only change I would make next time is to leave out the sugar--it's sweet enough as it is. Thanks for a terrific recipe for our seder dinner! We'll be making this more often just for fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bagx8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Delicious! Thank you for this recipe. Took the recipe up to 8 servings so I could use the whole bag of walnuts (exactly 1 1/3 cups), but only used 6 med/large apples. Added an extra squeeze of honey, an extra sprinkle cinnamon and a few more dashes of wine than called for... (Manischevitz). I will be using this recipe every year for Passover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvthedalilama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
yum! made as described
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This recipe tastes like unbaked pie filling to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This has always been my go to recipe for charoseth from my childhood Sisterhood cookbook. I don't measure anything, doing it all to taste. I use all honey, no sugar, although I'm sure date sugar would taste good. Manischevitz Concord is the only wine I think I've ever used. Since my son is allergic to nuts, I've had to omit the nuts for the past 13 years, but I still get raves every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
The right balance of fruit and nuts, wonderfully delicious. You may want to substitute date syrup for honey if you can find it for a little extra authenticity, but either way this is my go-to charoset.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Added wine, used 1/2 cup , doubled the cinnamon and soaked over night. Ummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is the 2nd Passover I have used this recipe. I used the apples that were on sale this time (fuji last time) and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I love Haroset, this is my first time actually making it for myself. Easy to prepare. Came out perfect! As others suggested I only used honey, increased it to 4tsp, instead of sugar. Will definately make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
PECANS!!!! I make this recipe every year and my family LOVES it but I use pecans. It just gives it that little something that makes it stand out. Those who don't like pecans, well, what can I say, you can't please everyone. I use Blackberry Wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States