Haroset for Passover Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Big hit everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YAELIE24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I made this for our Seder, and it was absolutely excellent. I made a few very slight changes, but nothing drastic. Instead of peeling and chopping I grated the unpeeled apples using my food processor, which saved immensely on the prep time, and I left the peels on, since that's where most of the apple's nutrients are (buy organic if you're going to leave the peels on, though). Also, I added a bit more honey (about 2 TBS total) to help bind everything together. To get three cups of grated apples I needed 5 smallish gala apples. I got several compliments on this, and two separate people told me it was the best haroset they'd ever had. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Its a good recipe but way too much for 6 people after a big passover meal! Next time I wouls make 1/3 this amount and use 2 apples instead of 5. I added raisins and dates to this for extra flavor but it made it very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maslow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alfia
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This was a delicious haroset. I used Gala apples as suggested, and substituted almonds and pecans for the walnuts. It does seem that the recipe calls for an awful lot of apples. I added extra nuts and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alfia
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
tried this recipe for the first time and it came out just great. this recipe is a keeper and and great sell. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa Carr Ashkenazi
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Just like my mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACAMRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This recipe was well-received at our Passover. I used regular wine (instead of sweet) and just 4 Gala apples, and it turned out great. If you are looking for a cement-like haroset this is not it, but I find this consistency more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Great Recipe!!! I do not like Walnuts, so I used pecans. It worked out very well. I nuttier flavor. I also used Gala Apples, because I just read those are a great source of antioxidents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was a great haroset for our first Passover. Everyone loved it! Other recipes I've had were more paste-like, but I enjoyed this version as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Wonderful! I followed the recipe except for adding a mix of nuts instead of just walnuts. It was the perfect consistency and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States