Haroset for Passover Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Delicious! Thank you for this recipe. Took the recipe up to 8 servings so I could use the whole bag of walnuts (exactly 1 1/3 cups), but only used 6 med/large apples. Added an extra squeeze of honey, an extra sprinkle cinnamon and a few more dashes of wine than called for... (Manischevitz). I will be using this recipe every year for Passover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvthedalilama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
yum! made as described
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This recipe tastes like unbaked pie filling to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This has always been my go to recipe for charoseth from my childhood Sisterhood cookbook. I don't measure anything, doing it all to taste. I use all honey, no sugar, although I'm sure date sugar would taste good. Manischevitz Concord is the only wine I think I've ever used. Since my son is allergic to nuts, I've had to omit the nuts for the past 13 years, but I still get raves every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
The right balance of fruit and nuts, wonderfully delicious. You may want to substitute date syrup for honey if you can find it for a little extra authenticity, but either way this is my go-to charoset.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Added wine, used 1/2 cup , doubled the cinnamon and soaked over night. Ummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is the 2nd Passover I have used this recipe. I used the apples that were on sale this time (fuji last time) and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I love Haroset, this is my first time actually making it for myself. Easy to prepare. Came out perfect! As others suggested I only used honey, increased it to 4tsp, instead of sugar. Will definately make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
PECANS!!!! I make this recipe every year and my family LOVES it but I use pecans. It just gives it that little something that makes it stand out. Those who don't like pecans, well, what can I say, you can't please everyone. I use Blackberry Wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Nice, fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States