Hariton's 'Famous' Vegetarian Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
I love vegetables. But this was awful. I served it for dinner to a group of friends and I was embarrassed by how bad this was. I adjusted for less servings, but I followed the recipe to a "T." It was lackluster, bland and not worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
I don't understand what the big deal is with this recipe. It's just some oven cooked veggies with tomato sauce. It took sooooo long to cook (almost 3 hrs) even though I halved the recipe! I knew I had to give it some time in the oven, but geez, by the time I was able to serve this with the rest of dinner, everyone was starving and pretty P...ed off. And still everyone hated it. What a waste. I would've had better results if I'd just sauted the veggies in a pan with salt and butter. WILL NOT MAKE AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
I scaled this down to 9 servings from 36; I found I only had to bake 1.5 hours. For extra liquid, I added a little red cooking wine diluted with water. I sprinkled feta cheese when serving for extra flavor. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
this is an update on my hubby's famous vegetarian..it still remains a sellout at our ever popular three day festival at Saints Peter and Paul Greek Orthodox Church, every year in Frederick, Maryland! Yasou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
Very good! I salted my eggplant in a collander rather than soaking it - took much less time. I decreased the recipe to about 4 servings but still used all of the 8 oz can of tomato sauce (didn't want to waste it), which I would definitely do again. If you significantly decrease the serving size, I would suggest decreasing the cooking time - after about 1 1/2 hours, my veggies were starting to burn. Oh, and I served it with toasted pitas and feta cheese - wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Really nice blend of flavors. Great as cold left-overs too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Really Good, Really Healthy, served withPita, Feta cheese and Ranch dressing. I printed recipe to serve 8, and used fresh cilantro and Italian Parsley instead of dill. Also, added an 8 oz can of tomato sauce, low sodium. Then just added a little water half way through. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Excellent. Cut the recipe WAY down to serve a family of four. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
It's not really a casserole; it's a big serving of lots of good and tasty vegetables and tubers with some excellent flavor. I used FRESH not dried spices. My vegetarian friends loved it! And it's lactose free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
We had a dinner party for four, two were vegetarians. I halved this recipe and added a couple other vegetables to the mix..carrots, butternut squash. Also omitted the eggplant. We placed the vegetables on a big platter on the table, had heated honey wheat pitas and different toppings. (shredded lettuce, feta cheese, olives, chopped scallions, cucumber ranch dressing.) Everyone was able to prepare their pita to their own taste. It was a festive hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States