Hariton's 'Famous' Vegetarian Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Very tasty. Way too much food, though. Scaled down the recipe considerably. The vegetables are GREAT wrapped in a tortilla. Really enjoyed the flavor and heats up well. Even my non-vegetarian friends like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
I REALLY LOVED THIS RECIPE AND I DON'T EVEN LIKE EGGPLANT THAT MUCH. IT WAS REALLY QUICK TO PREPARE EXCEPT FOR THE EGGPLANT AND SIMPLE TO MAKE. DEFINITELY A WINNER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
This was so delicious!! I did not soak the eggplant though, because I thought it would be too limp. It came out great anyway. The other reveiwer was right about the portion size. I cut it down to a three serving size and it still made six to eight servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I'm glad I took the advice to cut the recipe in half--however, it still made 20 servings! It was wonderful, though. I used a 28-ounce can of plum tomatoes, undrained, rather than the fresh tomatoes and tomato sauce. I also used dried spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I thought this recipe was FANTASTIC!!!!!! Alot of food though, so I cut it in half. Great with pita bread or couscous. I took it to work for lunch for a week, never got tired of eating it!! Tastes even better on 2nd day, when flavors have the opportunity to blend longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This was an awsome recipe! I give it two thumbs up. I cut it way down and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I'm not a vegetarian but with recipes like this, I could easily be convinced to become one. This is an OUTSTANDING recipe. I substituted butternut squash for the summer squash and scaled it down to 3 servings. I cooked it in my Pampered Chef stonewear casserole and it came out perfectly. I made "Peppy's Pita Bread" (recipe on this site) to go along with this and I just couldn't get over the flavor of this dish. Wonderful...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
It took me a long time to chop the vegetables, the squash was particularily hard. I made pita bread with a bread mix and the dough selection on my breadmaker, then rolled it out to 8 circles and pan fried them in a dry pan. I put mozzarella cheese and low fat ranch dressing on the vegetable pita's, and they were awesome. I couldn't wait to have one for lunch today, well worth the effort!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I thought this was wonderful! What a great blend of flavors. I modified it a little, using less eggplant and substituting zucchini, omitting mushrooms, etc. The recipe is very forgiving and works well, staying withing the basic proportions of the ingredients. I decreased cooking time, cranking up the heat a little because I was on a deadline, and it was still great. With the higher heat, mine came out a little on the roasted side, so it was hard to recognize what each of the vegetables were, but I found that to our advantage with the kids. It became a melange of wonderful flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I made this for a neighbor's family who has one vegetarian daughter, and they all raved about it. My family enjoyed it as well, although we are meateaters in general. It has to be cut way back in proportions to be reasonable for a normal dinner at home, and you can really add any vegetables you like to it. It's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States