Hariton's 'Famous' Vegetarian Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
This was so delicious!! I did not soak the eggplant though, because I thought it would be too limp. It came out great anyway. The other reveiwer was right about the portion size. I cut it down to a three serving size and it still made six to eight servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
this was awesome. Instead of soaking the eggplant in salt water, though I chopped it up, put it in a collander, and sprinkled salt on it. Then i let it sit for about an hour and rinsed it off. Not only does this work a lot better, but it saved time! Also, I threw a carrot or two in. I ran out of garlic so I just threw some garlic powder in and it seemed to work just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Very tasty. Way too much food, though. Scaled down the recipe considerably. The vegetables are GREAT wrapped in a tortilla. Really enjoyed the flavor and heats up well. Even my non-vegetarian friends like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I thought this was wonderful! What a great blend of flavors. I modified it a little, using less eggplant and substituting zucchini, omitting mushrooms, etc. The recipe is very forgiving and works well, staying withing the basic proportions of the ingredients. I decreased cooking time, cranking up the heat a little because I was on a deadline, and it was still great. With the higher heat, mine came out a little on the roasted side, so it was hard to recognize what each of the vegetables were, but I found that to our advantage with the kids. It became a melange of wonderful flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
We had a dinner party for four, two were vegetarians. I halved this recipe and added a couple other vegetables to the mix..carrots, butternut squash. Also omitted the eggplant. We placed the vegetables on a big platter on the table, had heated honey wheat pitas and different toppings. (shredded lettuce, feta cheese, olives, chopped scallions, cucumber ranch dressing.) Everyone was able to prepare their pita to their own taste. It was a festive hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I'm not a vegetarian but with recipes like this, I could easily be convinced to become one. This is an OUTSTANDING recipe. I substituted butternut squash for the summer squash and scaled it down to 3 servings. I cooked it in my Pampered Chef stonewear casserole and it came out perfectly. I made "Peppy's Pita Bread" (recipe on this site) to go along with this and I just couldn't get over the flavor of this dish. Wonderful...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
This is a very tasty recipe. However, it takes some time to assemble and is difficult to determine when it is fully cooked. The directions should be clearer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I'm glad I took the advice to cut the recipe in half--however, it still made 20 servings! It was wonderful, though. I used a 28-ounce can of plum tomatoes, undrained, rather than the fresh tomatoes and tomato sauce. I also used dried spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
I REALLY LOVED THIS RECIPE AND I DON'T EVEN LIKE EGGPLANT THAT MUCH. IT WAS REALLY QUICK TO PREPARE EXCEPT FOR THE EGGPLANT AND SIMPLE TO MAKE. DEFINITELY A WINNER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
A lot of prep time cutting the vegies. The serving sizes are HUGE!!! But VERY tasty and a great way to get vitamins in winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States