Hariton's 'Famous' Vegetarian Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I made this for a neighbor's family who has one vegetarian daughter, and they all raved about it. My family enjoyed it as well, although we are meateaters in general. It has to be cut way back in proportions to be reasonable for a normal dinner at home, and you can really add any vegetables you like to it. It's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
this was awesome. Instead of soaking the eggplant in salt water, though I chopped it up, put it in a collander, and sprinkled salt on it. Then i let it sit for about an hour and rinsed it off. Not only does this work a lot better, but it saved time! Also, I threw a carrot or two in. I ran out of garlic so I just threw some garlic powder in and it seemed to work just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
I soaked the eggplant in salted water (to "draw out the bitterness") like the recipe stated, but it was still bitter. Next time I'll replace it with extra potatoes or just leave the eggplant out completely. It's definitely worth a second try, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
We have changed the number of servings on this recipe from 12 to 36 to more accurately reflect the amount of food in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
I was really disappointed in the way it turned out. Everything looked so fresh and yummy before hitting the oven. This came out way too mushy for my family. Maybe I should have cut down on the cooking time too. I scaled it down to 3 servings and still had way too many unwanted leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
I don't know what went wrong but this dish did NOT turn out to be what I thought it should be (based on the ratings). I followed the recipe exactly with 2 exceptions: the eggplants were in the water for nearly 4 instead of 3 hours; I used dried instead of fresh herbs/spices. The dish turned out to be bitter and not much else. Quite disappointing. Definitely won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I thought this was wonderful! What a great blend of flavors. I modified it a little, using less eggplant and substituting zucchini, omitting mushrooms, etc. The recipe is very forgiving and works well, staying withing the basic proportions of the ingredients. I decreased cooking time, cranking up the heat a little because I was on a deadline, and it was still great. With the higher heat, mine came out a little on the roasted side, so it was hard to recognize what each of the vegetables were, but I found that to our advantage with the kids. It became a melange of wonderful flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
It took me a long time to chop the vegetables, the squash was particularily hard. I made pita bread with a bread mix and the dough selection on my breadmaker, then rolled it out to 8 circles and pan fried them in a dry pan. I put mozzarella cheese and low fat ranch dressing on the vegetable pita's, and they were awesome. I couldn't wait to have one for lunch today, well worth the effort!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
For a vegitarian meal that has everything in it , it was a delicious meal. If you put some sliced sausages in it to at the end it will satisfice a meat eater ( just broil the sausage, slice and serve on top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I'm not a vegetarian but with recipes like this, I could easily be convinced to become one. This is an OUTSTANDING recipe. I substituted butternut squash for the summer squash and scaled it down to 3 servings. I cooked it in my Pampered Chef stonewear casserole and it came out perfectly. I made "Peppy's Pita Bread" (recipe on this site) to go along with this and I just couldn't get over the flavor of this dish. Wonderful...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States