Harira Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Lovely stew. I used regular lentils and beef but otherwise followed instructions closely. I only needed to add salt to taste at the end, and topped with fresh chopped cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Awesome recipe! I changed around a lot though. I used rice instead of pasta and didnt put any meat but it was still fantastic! Recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Loved it! Will certainly remake it many times. Like someone else, i'm not a fan of canned garbonzo...i boiled then soaked fresh beans. I used turkey instead of lamb. I used tiny shells for pasta. I used less pepper than suggested, and a bit more ginger and tumeric to match my own tastes. Simply terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Very unusal, yet very tasty! My house was filled with a lovely aroma, and family really enjoyed this dish. (I used crumbled ground turkey in place of lamb and added twice as much pasta, resulting in much less liquid at the end - mine wasn`t a soup when I was done with it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Outstanding! Based on the ingredients that I had on hand, I did make a few changes. Chicken sausage, olive oil, chicken broth, and brown lentils were substitued for lamb, margarine, water and green lentils respectively. I was looking for something a little different and this recipe delivered. Not only is it healthy, it is loaded with flavor. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Excellent! I was so impressed with even the presentation of this soup that I sent over some to my neighbours without even tasting it (they loved it btw!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tripoli, North, Lebanon
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
The combination of spices in this stew are a perfect complement to the lamb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
My Moroccan friends were really impressed by the harira. They did not think I can find an authentic tasting recipe on the internet. I make this every Ramadan for them. They love it! (I'm not Moroccan btw)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
great stuff usman, thanks. update 2008: after having tried many a moroccan's harira...Its worth noting that the meat should be reduced to 1/2 lb of meat, cut in small pieces; Otherwise this is more of a STEW instead of harira.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I did not find this soup worth even 4 stars and here is why: 1)Look how much pepper is used in the recipe (black pepper and cayene). The soup is extremly hot, burning. 2) On top of that, the recipe calls for canned garbanza beans which, no matter how well you wash them, retain the smell and the taste of sulfites. 3) The recipe does not call for salt. My first attempt to make this soup went down the drain, because of the first two reasons mentioned above. Salt did not help. My second attempt was better. I used dry garbanza beans soaked overnight, I cooked them without salt for more then an hour before using, then 30 more minutes with the salt. I used just a little pinch of cayenne pepper and no black pepper at all. Plus I added salt. No vermicelli, because soups with pasta better be eaten right away. Pasta tends to absorb water and become a dough again. So, since the quantity of the souop was too big for my family to eat in one day, I decided not to use pasta. We did not miss it. The soup was allright, might make again, but not by the original recipe - modified version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States