Harira Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Fantastic! My butcher keeps large bones in their lamb stew meat - which makes for delicious broth - but next time I'll get 2 lbs so I have MORE MEAT! Followed everything else except I used jasmine rice in place of noodles. And I crockpot'd everything, adding the beans and lentils in the last two hours, and the lemon and egg at the very end. Fanfreakintastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Amazingly wonderful flavor and very hearty! We loved it, thanks for the recipe!! My wife, daughter and I ate this for three nights in a row on the amounts shown here. We only wish we had made a good flatbread to go with it...maybe next time. Following on suggestions from reviewers and based on our own preferences, we made some modifications: 1) cut the onions in half and ground them down in a food processor, 2) ground tomatoes in food processor before adding, 3) doubled lentils, 4) used only one egg, 5) substituted vegetable broth for water, 6) used orzo instead of vermicelli (no verm available at our store), 7) upped ginger to 1 tbsp, 8) doubled cinnamon and tumeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I will definitely make this again. Its so simple and filling. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Excellent soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I've made this soup about 50 times, and we love it, we eat it every night during Ramadan. My husband is from Morocco and he's certified it moroccan with the following changes. I don't add the eggs and only use 1 red onion. Also, instead of 1 can of diced tomatoes and cayenne, I use 1/2 can chili tomatoes. We find a whole can to be too much tomato for our tastes. You can also substitute chicken for the lamb. I add 2 leg & thigh pieces bone and all and after 1.5 hours I remove and shred. I also mash about half the chickpeas before adding to the soup to thicken it all up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
It tastes wonderful, I am not a good cook but my family is always amazed when I make it. I omit the cinnamon and eggs, it's only a preference but some do enjoy that. I do add 10 cups of water instead of 7 as well as more meat. I also only put 1/2 tsp black pepper, otherwise it is too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hinda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Casablanca, Greater Casablanca, Morocco
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
My friends and I loved this, but if I remake, I'd change a few things. There was way too much onion, so I'd half that, and probably double the lentils. Don't skip the eggs though, they sound weird, but they finish up and give it a nice creamier texture. Just be careful to lower the heat afterwards, or they will break down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Nice healthy recipe. Thanks for uploading. Changes I made: There is no mention of stock in this recipe and without it I found the soup a little bland. Addition of a little vegetable bouillon powder lifted things. Also right at the end, I added a whole raw egg directly into the hot soup and quickly whisked it in. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is a delicious soup!!! However, I omitted the lamb, and added some cumin. Other than that, I followed directions explicitly. Delicious, delicious, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States