Harira Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
I can attest that this recipe is authentic!! I have had many a night to break the fast during Ramadan. It reminds me of my home in Khemisset, Morocco. I am sad to say that I need to come to the web to learn to cook foods from my country because I was rasied in this country. Yet this truly is an authentic recipe, and I recommend it to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Very different soup! Next time I would add some salt along with the other ingredients in Step 1. It definitely needed some salt, and adding salt after the fact didn't seem to help. My husband complained of a "vinegar" taste, which we attributed to the juice of a whole lemon. Perhaps only 1/2 of a lemon should be used. The taste of the lamb is very distinctive, so if you don't like lamb, perhaps you could substitute pork or beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Thanks so much for the recipe. My husband is Moroccan and loved it. It felt it had a truly authentic taste, but was missing salt in STEP 1. I was adding so many ingredients, it didn't even hit me until he said it was saltless. Easy fix- we just added at the table. I didn't add the lemon, since I thought that would make it taste funny...other than that. This is an excellent way for an American woman like myself to give my husband some good ole' home cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRADY'S LADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Very good ethnic recipe. I followed the recipe for the most part - 3 cups water, 4 cups beef broth; fresh tomatoes instead of canned, no pasta or egg, but just 1 lb of lentils. Served over basmati rice - excellent! Made a ton and the lamb was very, very tender after being in the slow cooker for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
My moroccan husband said this was very authentic and we loved the taste. I added beef broth, left the onions whole and then removed them and skipped the vermicelli. Also, according to my husband, the recipe would be better off with a tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes. It was really great though and the taste was just like the soup my husband's sister made for us in Morocco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Okay, I do not know how to correctly pronounce the name of this soup so I have been calling it the "Rockin' Moroccan Soup!" I made the soup exactly like the recipe says, but one change... I used 3/4 cup couscous instead of the vermicelli pasta, since so many people said it was unnecessary. It was perfect!!! Absolutely delicious!!! All the spices gave it a wonderful authentic taste. Hubby and I both loved it!!! I will definitely be keeping this one on my personal recipe book to make over and over again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
Very good and interesting!You really have to like lamb-it really permeates the flavor.I added about 6 cloves of garlic and about 4 Tb salt,since I can't seem to cook anything without either!I also didn't have noodles so I used 3/4 cup dry cous cous instead.I don't know if these changes are Harira faux pas,but they were good anyway!My kids even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Thanks Usman for a superb recipe and I'm definitely giving it a 5 cos we love middle-eastern food! I added 2 nos. of marrow bone, blanch it with the cut lamb & simmer it for an hour before adding in the other ingredients. I left out the pasta and egg. Served it with bread & lemon wedges at the side instead. Next time, I'll add in the eggs just before serving. Certainly taste better next day & family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This is delicious and very easy to make. I did mine without the pasta and it was great. My only suggestion is to add more lamb...it got a bit lost in the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
A wonderful and very different recipe. Make sure you break up the vermicelli so that you are not trying to contend with long noodles in addition to the rest of the ingredients. Also, I would probably use slightly less cinnamon next time. Nevertheless, this soup came out superb. Also: The turmeric can turn things yellow like it did my wooden spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States