Harira Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I used ground lamb b/c that's what I had on hand. I didn't have celery or cilantro or pasta, but otherwise I followed the recipe pretty closely (but I left out the lemon since other reviewers didn't rave about the addition). And it was SO good! Also, with the ground lamb, the cooking time was cut in half but all of the flavor remained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This ended up turning out to be just what I wanted...a spicy lamb and lentil dish. I made the following changes: added 1 tsp sea salt with the spices, substituted two peeled and grated bulbs of ginger for the ground ginger...this made it VERY spicy...but a good warm-up for a wintry February day...I also added two bay leaves along with the lentils. Used tomoato puree instead of diced tomatoes and left out the pasta, eggs, and lemon. Mmmmmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Excellent IMO. you have to like both lamb and beans though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I've had harira a couple of times in Moroccan restaurants and decided to try and make it at home. While this soup was a very tasty and hearty dish, it wasn't what I was trying to achieve. This recipe creates a very (VERY) thick stew with little to no liquid to soup it up. And the addition of pasta killed it. Everytime I took the cover off the pot for leftovers the first thing I smelled was pasta and it killed my appetite. I'll be trying this recipe again, but with some major adjustments--the spicing is spot-on, but the texture needs some dramatic work. Next time I'll leave out the pasta and only use half the lemon juice. I'm also thinking I'll use 2-14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes, liquid drained, one can pureed and the second as-is. I'll also puree 1/2 - 3/4 of the can of chickpeas using some liquid from the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This recipe is a bit of work, but so worth it. However, if you like thin soups, this is not for you! It is incredibly thick and hearty. The spicing is tasty; I'd never used cinnamon in a savory dish, but it works very well. We've eaten this with the pasta added, but I agree that it probably could be left out as there's already so much going on in the soup. It does need salt added, especially if you've added garbanzo beans that you've cooked from dried beans instead of the can. My husband likes lamb and loves this recipe. We've made it many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
My roommate made this with venison and it is delicious! Ate with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Thanks so much for the recipe. My husband is Moroccan and loved it. It felt it had a truly authentic taste, but was missing salt in STEP 1. I was adding so many ingredients, it didn't even hit me until he said it was saltless. Easy fix- we just added at the table. I didn't add the lemon, since I thought that would make it taste funny...other than that. This is an excellent way for an American woman like myself to give my husband some good ole' home cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRADY'S LADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This is delicious and very easy to make. I did mine without the pasta and it was great. My only suggestion is to add more lamb...it got a bit lost in the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Thanks Usman for a superb recipe and I'm definitely giving it a 5 cos we love middle-eastern food! I added 2 nos. of marrow bone, blanch it with the cut lamb & simmer it for an hour before adding in the other ingredients. I left out the pasta and egg. Served it with bread & lemon wedges at the side instead. Next time, I'll add in the eggs just before serving. Certainly taste better next day & family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This just didn't live up to the hype. I used 3/4 cup couscous in place of the vermicelli - big regrets on that, it sucked up all the liquid. Although the b.f. didn't mind the couscous addition, he said it made it "goulash-y." The lamb came out tender and very flavorful, which surprised me because most stew recipes call for searing the meat first, so when this recipe suggests just stirring it in, I was skeptical, but it made for some delicious lamb and even a nice lamb flavor to the broth (which was then usurped by the couscous). Also, the flavor was a little bland, and if I make this again I will double the spices and use chili powder instead of cayenne - that made it have this weird southwestern flavor that seemed out of place. The beaten eggs added at the end got lost and I didn't notice their impact at all. Next time, if there is one, I will definitely skip the whole pasta and egg part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States