Harira Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Very good. I will make this again. I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Okay, I do not know how to correctly pronounce the name of this soup so I have been calling it the "Rockin' Moroccan Soup!" I made the soup exactly like the recipe says, but one change... I used 3/4 cup couscous instead of the vermicelli pasta, since so many people said it was unnecessary. It was perfect!!! Absolutely delicious!!! All the spices gave it a wonderful authentic taste. Hubby and I both loved it!!! I will definitely be keeping this one on my personal recipe book to make over and over again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This is an unusual and very hearty stew. I used stew beef, as I was unable to get fresh lamb. I also substituted 2 cups of vegetable juice and reduced the water accordingly. I also omitted the pasta, egg, and lemon. It's fantastic without it. My family loves this! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This is awesome - I substituted ground turkey for lamb because I dont like lamb and I didnt want the fat in a red meat - and the recipe was fabulous! I will make this many times over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
We loved this soup. The only thing I would change is the vermicelli pasta, either changing the type or omitting it all together. The soup doesn't really need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Surprisingly good! Once I combined the spices with the lamb and veggies I was worried that It would taste too much like cinnamon, but the end result had no taste of cinnamon at all and was very hearty. I did add garlic salt and celery salt at the end and that was a great addition. Next time I will omit the pasta as it was totally unneccessary in my point of view. Some reviews show people adding rice instead, maybe I will try that next time. All in all, a great hearty fall or winter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it was amazing! The lemon juice gives it such an interesting tang and the lamb was melt-in-the-mouth tender. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
My family really liked this. I had a friend over (who is notoriously picky: she likes her meat, veggies and starch all separated), but she had seconds! I don't think she was being polite... I did make a few changes (cooked shredded chicken, slightly less cinnamon, no vermicelli). Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Very good ethnic recipe. I followed the recipe for the most part - 3 cups water, 4 cups beef broth; fresh tomatoes instead of canned, no pasta or egg, but just 1 lb of lentils. Served over basmati rice - excellent! Made a ton and the lamb was very, very tender after being in the slow cooker for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
My moroccan husband said this was very authentic and we loved the taste. I added beef broth, left the onions whole and then removed them and skipped the vermicelli. Also, according to my husband, the recipe would be better off with a tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes. It was really great though and the taste was just like the soup my husband's sister made for us in Morocco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States