Harira Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was fantastic! Decided to make a batch of this tonight since hubby wasn't going to be home for dinner (not his fav type of meal). Anyway, have never had lamb so opted to make this vegetarian (although would likely be great with chicken or pork). Used parsley instead of cilantro as I don't like cilantro, used all veggie broth, fresh ginger instead of dried (about 1/2tsp), left out the pasta/egg/lemon based on other reviews and upped the lentils to a full 1lb (bit more than 2 cups). Makes a TON! Will gladly eat this for lunch again and again and likely freeze some too, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This came out well and I will be making it again. I couldn't find vermicelli in the store when I needed it, so I used spaghettini instead. It was a good thickness for the stew. My husband's only complaint was that he would have liked more pasta in it! If you have leftovers, it keeps well in the fridge and tastes very good reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
It's rare that my grocery store has boneless lamb meat, so I was excited to try this recipe. I made a couple of changes due to personal preference, and also for the fact I was making this a day ahead for Husband who'd been out of town, and I was going to be at work when he got home. First, I left out the celery and turmeric as he isn't a fan. I also chose to omit the beaten egg and vermicelli so that he could just heat up the stew, and serve it over rice (He knows how to make rice. He's awesome like that). Despite these changes, this turned out great! What a wonderful combination of spices. Very flavorful. Thanks, Usman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Hi, I made this during ramadan and it was excellent and very easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Yummy, really enjoyed this! all the family approved.. especially mum, as its easy preparation and is left alone to cook. not very complicated at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
As good as this smelled, it was bland! I added extra salt at the beginning as suggested in other reviews, but it still tasted like it needed salt (or something). The only change I made was ground lamb. I was excited to try something different and its palletable, tasted healthy, *but* for all of the trouble it was, wouldn't make it again. I really don't know what would fix it 'cause adding anything else probably wouldn't be authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ttownbeth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Delicious!!!! I added scallions to this ( 6-7 bunches white parts with some green) and a teaspoon of garam masala. B.t.w I kind of increased alot of the spices a bit due to the recommendations on this. And don't forget the salt!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I was so nervous, I made this for my Yemeni boyfriend and 2 of his coworkers. They LOVED it, I felt so good. As suggested by another review I added salt, and I also used 2 cans of beef broth and 3 cups water. I also took off the shell /skin of the Garbanzo beans. I always do that just makes a softer bean. I have already been requested to make this for the upcoming Ramadan holiday. This was a very hearty meal with a great blend of spices. Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Delicious, hearty, and very adjustable to whatever ingredients you have on hand. Made great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I made this with venison tenderloin and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States