Harira Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Crockpot - came home from work to a wonderful aroma. Didn't have turmeric so used a big pinch of saffron, used 3 Tbs dried cilantro because that's all I had, dropped in some dehydrated shallots because I didn't have red onion. Put in crockpot this a.m. with 2 cups water and 4 cups beef broth. Used just a bit of corn starch to thicken at the very end. Delicious! When I make it again I'll do it on a lazy weekend winter day, on the stovetop, but really it was great in the slowcooker! Thanks for the awsome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Very authentic. I used firm tofu instead of lamb meat because I'm a vegetarian. I also used olive oil instead of butter and fresh ginger instead of ground ginger. I left out the egg, noodles, and lemon. This tasted fabulous! This is spicy so make sure to cut down on the cayenne if you are not a fan. Next time I will use dried garbanzo beans instead of the canned ones and toss them in with the lentils. Like another review stated, you just can't get that brine taste out of the canned garbanzos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateskitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was good, but I feel like something is missing...followed the recipe, except for putting the egg in. Other posters said that wasn't needed, but maybe it was...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Super tasty! I fell in love with this soup when in Morocco, and have been searching for a close replica ever since. This will definitely become one of my "regulars". I substituted beef for the lamb, and doubled the lemon juice. I served the soup with plenty of lemon wedges - its supposed to have a sourness to it, and I think the lemon adds a lot. I used a teaspoon of crushed red chili instead of the Cyanne, and though my husband and I loved it, my kids found this to be too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Beef bulion instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faina Shpiler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
No, seriously. This is the most amazing recipe...the flavors are absolutely stunning together! I made it just like the recipe states other than using fresh tomatoes from my garden...loved it, loved it, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
My favourite soup/stew recipe. It is so hearty and flavourful! I have made this recipe about 6 times. I tried making it in the slow cooker once and it turned out awful. I highly recommend making it in the pot like the directions say. I have never used pasta or eggs in the recipe. Instead of the pasta I use quinoa. I realize that this takes away from the authenticity, but it tastes so good! I put in 1-2 cups of quinoa about 45 minutes before the cooking is done. I always use extra cilantro, olive oil instead of margarine and broth (preferably beef) instead of water. Update Feb 19/10: Used a lamb shoulder with some bits of meat on it from a left over recipe. I rubbed the lamb with the spices and browned it in a pan with some olive oil, the onions, celery, cilantro and some carrots that I added. Then I put it in a crock pot with the rest of the ingredients during the day, minus the chickpeas, lentils, quinoa and lemon juice that I added with an hour left. Update March 12: Made soup without any meat, but added extra garbanzo beans and lentils and it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
My husband immigrated from Rabat Morocco 2 years ago. I made this for him this Ramadan and he said it is very authentic and good. BTW other reviewers - THIS IS A SOUP NOT A STEW. This is for breaking fast in the evening when you have fasted all day. My in-laws do not add egg and pasta is optional also. The lemon in a wonderful addition - do not be afraid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Delicious, amazing flavor. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
We loved this one. One pot meals are such a breeze to clean up after. It was hearty and delicious. I didn't have a big enough pot, so I cut down a little bit on the water. It was probably a bit more concentrated than it should have been, but it was still yummy. I didn't have any vermicelli so I used orzo instead. I don't think the eggs added anything, so next time I will leave them out. They weren't bad, but I don't see the need for the extra cholesterol since there was already lamb. I had to use lamb chops, but they turned out very tender. I can't wait to have the leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States