Haricots Verts Lyonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
Really excellent - preparation time can be cut by cooking the beans ahead of time, plunging them into ice water, draining and wrapping in a clean cloth and refrigerating the day before. Then continue with the recipe just before serving. By the way I am no relation to the Terri Pringle who submitted the recipe even though we have the same last name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Oh my, this recipe is my absolute favorite recipe for green beans EVER! While the green beans are boiling, I saute the garlic and red onions in butter, then add the thyme. I don't discard the garlic or let the garlic rest in the butter for 20 mins. Then I take the green beans right from the pot to the skillet and toss them in the garlic/butter/red onion/thyme, add the red wine vinegar and the salt, pepper, and nutmeg to taste, and serve. I didn't have fresh parsley on hand so I omitted it. Heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAKEPRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Keep to the cooking times exactly on this or you will risk soggy beans. I tread the line very closely, but they turned out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tsubaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
My husband and I love those little green beans anyway, but this recipe makes them taste wonderful. We try to use the fresh herbs when we have them. Thanks -- we have already made this twice in one week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
These went over very well, and were good--but I don't know if they justify the time spent making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Well, this deffinetly takes a little longer then the usual side dishes I make, but it turned out very tasty. We did enjoy it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Five star recipe that allows the taste of fresh green beans to shine. Prepare green beans ahead as suggested by another cook for ease of preparation if you wish. If you have fresh thyme add to taste for an even more delicious flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
This is really an wonderful recipe for green beans. I like the simplicity of it--and it doesn't cover up the fresh bean taste. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Delicious. Made no changes to this recipe. Will definitely make these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Delicious flavor. Loved the nutmeg. Did cook a little bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

How to Make Succotash

See how to make sensational, suffer-free succotash.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States