Haricots Verts Lyonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
We really liked these. Cook the green beans to your preferred doneness; I like mine a little more done than 5 minutes gets them, so..I just boil them longer. I also skipped the ice bath, and just drained them. I did not discard my garlic (but you have to be careful not to burn it if you don't discard it, because burnt garlic is super gross and also easy to do), nor did I let my butter wait for 20 minutes (because I don't see why, and I'm impatient). There are a lot of subtle, complex flavors to enjoy here, and we enjoyed them all. Thank you, Terri Pringle, for sharing your recipe which will certainly be a hit at our table for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This dish comes together faster than how the directions read -- the beans can be quickly par-cooked in the microwave while onions are caramelizing then added to the pan while hot. I used frozen green beans (from last year's garden), which were blanched prior to freezing, so cook time was next to nil. While the vinegar adds a nice tangy flavor, the nutmeg (even a mere pinch) is sooo aromatic and worth not skipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I thought these were pretty good. The caramelized onion is the key to the flavor so don't skip that part. But I didn't let the garlic butter sit (nor did I discard the garlic) and it turned out fine, so that makes it a bit easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I liked this recipe a lot. I used balsamic vinegar because it was what I had, but otherwise followed the recipe and it came out with a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
The red wine vinegar gives the beans a very nice tang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Good, but a lot of work for only decent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deathmagus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Loved this, it was very similar to a Haricot dish I had whilst on holiday in France. I did make a couple of changes though, I didn't have red wine vinegar, so I used cider vinegar instead and I didn't throw out the garlic, I kept it in the dish, I just added it when the onion had finished sweating. This is one you should try, all of my family loved it, even my picky eaters, thank you for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Love it! But I always steam the green beans in the microwave to speed up things. Also, I love garlic, so I just add it directly (minced) to the butter, onions, and thyme. Makes the overall recipe about 30 minutes instead of 50.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Didn't change a thing. Thanks so much, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I don't know how to keep the beans crispy save for cooking them for less time that what's recommended here. Cut butter down to lower fat content. Used shallots instead of red onions because that's what I had; was a good substitute. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

How to Make Succotash

See how to make sensational, suffer-free succotash.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States