Harden Your Arteries Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Very good and easy. Followed the recipe with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This was the easiest and flakiest crust ever. Perfect recipe and I am not a baker. I like a thick crust so I will double the recipe next time even if I do not need all of the dough. It was super easy to get from counter to pie pan. I used this for a chocolate mousse pie so I prebaked the crust. I cannot say enough good about this crust!! I have struggled making pie crust forever...not any more! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Best & Flakiest Crust I have had in YEARS!! It tastes just like the pie crust that my mother and grandmother use to make, the flavor is out of this world and it is so flaky!!! The secret is the Lard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Just like my mother used to make. I've used it for apple,blueberry and cherry pies. Everyone loves the pies but rave about the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is not bad, but there are a couple of mechanical issues with this recipe as written. I had to add more lard, there just wasn't enough for all the flour. I used 1/2 cup lard, which is still less than the general pie-making guideline and half fat to flour ratio. I even added more than 1 tsp vinegar and needed more than 1 tbsp water. Also, I think the egg would be easier to mix in if it were pre-beaten. The recipe sounded like it wanted the egg as in added into the flour mixture and by doing this it wasn't as easy to bring together and the yolk was hard to distribute it evenly. I do agree with other reviewers that this was super easy to roll out, and I have no complaints about the taste. I think though I'll stick with my favourite recipe for next time - Grandma's Secret Pie Crust on this website. Similar to this one but comes together more easily. Thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
All right - Health Police - back off right now! This is GREAT pie crust - tender - flakey - everything a pie crust should be. Besides - I would rather eat lard or butter than hydrogenated shortening. I used this for chicken pot pie. It is a keeper! I doubled the recipe for a top and bottom crust. Note - freeze the lard in small cubes. I made this in the food processor, with short pulses - blended the flour and salt - added the lard - pulse - then added the egg and vinegar mixed together - pulse and then about 2 teaspoons of water. This will be my go to recipe for the holiday baking season. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was SO EASY to roll out, I can't believe the difference compared to shortening. Very tasty with my chicken pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This recipe has great potential but I had to dock it a star because it should have called for water in the ingredients in the first place and not just "add it if you need it." It definitely needed it, a good tablespoon, and because I added only a teaspoon or so at a time I ended up working the dough a little more than I should have. But it is definitely worth making again as the egg contributes richness and flavor and the vinegar is known to contribute flakiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Once again I've found a winner! This crust was easy to make, easy to work with, and of course most importantly-Delicious! My elderly neighbor told me a few ingredients in her coveted crusts so I did some searching and this is the closest I've found to it and so good it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LalaBeansMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Made this crust with peach pie recipe from this site and it was excellent. My son said it was the best peach pie he's ever eaten, and he doesn't like peach pie! Light and flaky, just like grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States